It is currently Fri Jul 19, 2024 1:24 pm


Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ajsphead

Member

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 8:16 am

Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostFri May 22, 2020 1:28 pm

I'm not running Hauptwerk yet but doing my research before purchase. I have a yr2000 Viscount Grand Opera and need an answer to what I hope is a straightforward question.

There are 5 vacant ports on the Viscount stop control boards and space for 5 more drawstop units. I can purchase the drawstop units and cables from Viscount but if I connect them, will Hauptwerk be able to recognise them so I can assign voices to them?

Thanks

Anthony
Offline
User avatar

IainStinson

Member

  • Posts: 1401
  • Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:08 pm
  • Location: NW England, UK

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostFri May 22, 2020 3:36 pm

Some thoughts of what you could try (I don’t know the details of this instrument)....
1. Check the midi output from the existing keys and stops using a midi monitor program
2. Can you swap the connections of one of the existing drawstops to try out the unused ports and see what midi output these generate?
3. Try sending midi into the console using the midi monitor program to see if HW could send control signals to the console (for stop control from HW’s registration system).

MidiOx and MidiMedic are popular midi monitoring programs.

Hope this helps.

Good luck.

Iain
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7283
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostFri May 22, 2020 5:07 pm

Or MidiMonitor https://www.snoize.com/ if you are using a Mac.

MidiOx (for a PC) can be found at http://www.midiox.com/moxdown.htm.

Rgds,
Ed
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Site Admin

  • Posts: 2102
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 9:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostFri May 22, 2020 9:04 pm

Good evening Anthony,

Thanks for your interest in Hauptwerk,

As already explained in the previous reply, you will need to check (using the proposed midi monitoring sofware) if your stops/tabs transmits midi messages.

All "midified" console will transmit the keyboards and pedalboard midi messages thru the midi out to the computer; some will also transmit the swell pedals midi messages. For the stops, you will need to test and see. Often they will be used "internally" by the console registration system, not transmitting any messages thru the midi out.

Now, even if your stops can toggle on/off Hauptwerk organs stops, you will be limited or find problems with that setup. One of the beauty of Hauptwerk is to switch organs, go from a baroque organ to a large symphonic instrument, the play a Spanish instrument etc.

So, if you try to control the virtual organs with your stops, you will need to remember which "physical" stop is controlling which virtual stop depending on the organ used. Also, your organ may have 30-40 stops, but the virtual organ may have 60 stops... a touchscreen is often the device used to set your registration. If your physical pistons can transmit midi messages (or can toggle a stop who is transmitting a midi message), then you will be able to use Hauptwerk registration system (generals, divisionals, registration sequencer), the touchscreen being used only to prepare your registration who will be saved to your pistons.

Simply try one of the Midi monitoring software connected to your console and see which devices from your console are transmitting midi message. Check your organ User Manual, often you will find a section related to "MIDI Implementation".

Lastly, download the Hauptwerk Installation and User Manual to learn more about Hauptwerk and it features (available at https://hauptwerk.com/documentation

In the end you may find that your console doesn't fully transmit the needed MIDI messages, but the most important one are transmitted and you can work around these limitations by various means and functionalities offer by Hauptwerk.

Exploring, testing are part of the fun learning about VPO.
Best regards
François

Virtually sharing my enthusiasm and experience with you
Worldwide technical assistance, consultation and ready to play system.

http://www.HauptwerkConsultant.com

AND Hauptwerk Support Manager
Offline

ajsphead

Member

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 8:16 am

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostSat May 23, 2020 3:02 am

Thank you everyone for your help. I will test using the proposed devices and hopefully find an answer.
Offline

ajsphead

Member

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 8:16 am

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostMon Jun 01, 2020 12:38 pm

OK. I've downloaded Midi-OX and established that the Midi ports are live.
What I cannot find in the Midi-OX instructions is how to identify the 5 empty ports for stop controls. I have checked them with another stop and found that 1 is live so I just need to make the other 4 live too. Additionally, this organ has 5 tabs (Channels 1 to 4) Midi to Sw, Gt, Ch, Ped and midi programme change. As I'm not planning to use the Midi through to play current organ sounds back out through Hauptwerk I wonder if they can be converted to run organ controls, eg couplers and how I might identify and check them.
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7283
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostMon Jun 01, 2020 1:20 pm

Not sure what you means by 5 empty ports. Just so we are on same page. What most organs with MIDI implementation have usually a MIDI In, MIDI Out, and sometimes a MIDI Thru port(s). You'll find these connectors many times mounted under the key desk. With the MIDI Out port connected (via a 5 pin din connector which looks like this)

Image

to the computer thru a MIDI to USB interface. Something like this.

https://www.newegg.com/p/36F-006M-001R5?item=9SIAEF87SC4995&source=region&nm_mc=knc-googlemkp-pc&cm_mmc=knc-googlemkp-pc-_-pla-electronix-_-usb+converters-_-9SIAEF87SC4995&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI_8XonqLh6QIVDb7ACh0zLQE4EAQYBCABEgLi4_D_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds#

When you open MIDI Ox, you can see what kind of message is being sent by the various organ controls, i.e. keyboard key, couplers, pistons, expression pedals, etc. Organs may transmit these control messages in various formats such as note on/note off, system exclusive (SysEx), CC (Continuous Control) and in some cases a particular, exclusive to that organ, proprietary code.

BTW, if you don't know the meaning of some of these terms, just use Google to find out.

Rgds,
Ed
Last edited by engrssc on Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

ajsphead

Member

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri May 22, 2020 8:16 am

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostMon Jun 01, 2020 1:49 pm

Thanks.

The ports I'm referring to are empty 6 pin ports on the stop control boards. I can get the stop control units and cables from Viscount, 1 port is currently empty but live, the others I want to make live but can't work out how to identify them on Midi-Ox to switch them on.

Your post was helpful because I haven't yet worked out the format that the organ communicates in, I wonder if it's proprietary hence why I can't identify it.
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7283
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Adding stop controls to existing Viscount console

PostMon Jun 01, 2020 1:56 pm

Not familiar with the 6 pin connectors you refer to. For establishing the MIDI communication, you need to connect to the MIDI Out connector as in the above post, assuming the organ has one, most do.

There are various (external beyond the basic organ) MIDI encoders that can be connected to switches permitting the switvhes to communicate with HW functions.

Rgds,
Ed

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest