It is currently Sat Jul 20, 2024 9:11 pm


Midiplus Smartpad??

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

scottherbert

Member

  • Posts: 466
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:22 pm
  • Location: Southern Colorado, USA

Midiplus Smartpad??

PostSat Jul 04, 2020 10:20 am

Anyone know if Hauptwerk recognizes the Midiplus Smartpad like it does the Novation Launchpad?
"Life is just a dream, it is in death that we truly awaken!"
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15614
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Midiplus Smartpad??

PostSat Jul 04, 2020 10:50 am

Hello Scottbert,

Although I have no experience/feedback with the Midiplus Smartpad, (unless conceivably you could rename its MIDI ports, e.g. via macOS' 'Audio MIDI Setup' application) I wouldn't expect that Hauptwerk's Novation Launchpad support/implementation would work with it, even if both devices had identical MIDI implementations, since Hauptwerk determines whether to apply the special Launchpad functionality/implementation based on whether a device has 'Launchpad' in its MIDI port names (given that MIDI 1.0 provides no means to determine that, apart from device name). Hence my recommendation would be to opt for a 'real' Novation Launchpad (mk2).
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

scottherbert

Member

  • Posts: 466
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:22 pm
  • Location: Southern Colorado, USA

Re: Midiplus Smartpad??

PostSun Jul 05, 2020 7:52 am

Thanks Martin. Someone is selling them to use with Hauptwerk and I suspected as much!
"Life is just a dream, it is in death that we truly awaken!"
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15614
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Midiplus Smartpad??

PostSun Jul 05, 2020 9:47 am

Thanks, Scottbert.

P.S. I should add that of course even if its device name doesn't/can't contain 'Launchpad', and/or if it doesn't have an identical MIDI implementation to the Novation Launchpad, then it may well still be usable (without Hauptwerk control of any button lamps) as simple non-illuminated MIDI buttons with Hauptwerk.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7283
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Midiplus Smartpad??

PostSun Jul 05, 2020 10:19 am

There are many devices such as Korg nanoKONTROL 2 that work with Hauptwerk very well.

Rgds,
Ed
Offline

scottherbert

Member

  • Posts: 466
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:22 pm
  • Location: Southern Colorado, USA

Re: Midiplus Smartpad??

PostMon Jul 06, 2020 8:35 am

They state that this device uses the Novation Ableton software, so I thought I should ask here if it would work.
"Life is just a dream, it is in death that we truly awaken!"
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7283
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Midiplus Smartpad??

PostMon Jul 06, 2020 8:44 am

Hauptwerk implementation doesn't need or use Novation software.

Rgds,
Ed
Offline

scottherbert

Member

  • Posts: 466
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:22 pm
  • Location: Southern Colorado, USA

Re: Midiplus Smartpad??

PostWed Jul 08, 2020 8:08 am

engrssc wrote:Hauptwerk implementation doesn't need or use Novation software.

Rgds,
Ed


Hi Ed, yes, I understood this. The question was, since this device is obviously a clone, or knockoff, and since it did use the same software, would the internals also be duplicated and therefore possibly work with Hauptwerk. It doesn't matter for me, but since someone was trying to sell it to other Hauptwerk users, I thought I would ask. :D

~S
"Life is just a dream, it is in death that we truly awaken!"

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest