It is currently Thu Jul 18, 2024 3:04 pm

Audio System for a Mac

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author

KenA

Audio System for a Mac

PostSun Jul 19, 2020 1:16 pm

I am just beginning to put together a three manual Hauptwerk, which has been much delayed
by the Covid pandemic. I will be making use of an existing iMac. I also already have two sets of
quite good stereo speakers. Despite reading the Hauptwerk manual several times and studying
entries in this forum, I still have several questions on how to best configure my audio system,
while still keeping within a reasonable budget.
Initially of course, I will simply plug headphones into the headphone jack on the back of the
iMac. I also believe, from reading the manual, that I can replace the headphones with a pair of
stereo speakers and plug into the headphone jack on the Mac. Is this correct?
The next stage of audio could include a powered subwoofer, to which would be connected a
pair of powered stereo speakers. My understanding is that these can also be plugged into the
headphone jack on the Mac without an additional amp.
If I wish to use my existing two pairs of stereo speakers I will require an eight channel amp to
also allow for a subwoofer and headphones, and this would be attached to the Mac by means
of a thunderbolt or USB connection.
If I wanted to use all of the above, a subwoofer and now 3 pairs of stereo speakers, can the
powered speakers be connected to the amp?
I would appreciate comments on whether any or all of my proposed configurations will work.

mdyde

Re: Audio System for a Mac

PostMon Jul 20, 2020 4:39 am

Hello Ken,

KenA wrote:Initially of course, I will simply plug headphones into the headphone jack on the back of the
iMac. I also believe, from reading the manual, that I can replace the headphones with a pair of
stereo speakers and plug into the headphone jack on the Mac. Is this correct?