It is currently Wed Jan 27, 2021 6:29 pm

Viscount Chorum and Dell laptop sound

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author

Chris Shaw

Viscount Chorum and Dell laptop sound

PostTue Aug 04, 2020 12:47 pm

I'm brand new to all of this! I'm trying to play Hauptwerk on my Viscount Chorum via my Dell laptop and back through the Viscount's speakers. I can get everything up and running but, try as I might, there's a constant loud background hum. Any thoughts would be very much appreciated.

mdyde

Re: Viscount Chorum and Dell laptop sound

PostTue Aug 04, 2020 1:22 pm

Hello Chris,

In case you're referring to the virtual blower sound, you can disabled that virtual 'rank' via the 'Organ | Load organ, adjusting rank audio/memory options' screen (or turn it down via the 'Organ settings | Rank voicing ...' screen).
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

engrssc

micdev

Site Admin

PostTue Aug 04, 2020 2:38 pm

Or one other possibility... bad audio connection between your computer/audio interface and the Viscount Audio in.

Ideally you will want to use a balanced cable from the computer/audio interface to the Viscount Audio IN.
Best regards
François

Virtually sharing my enthusiasm and experience with you
Worldwide technical assistance, consultation and ready to play system.

http://www.HauptwerkConsultant.com

AND Hauptwerk Support Manager

organtechnology

PostTue Aug 04, 2020 10:10 pm

Actually it sounds like a classic 'ground loop' where the ground or earth connections are of differing Ohmic values which sets up a small 60 Hz signal on an unbalanced audio system. I believe this is the primary reason that balanced cables are in most pro and semi-pro studios. The balanced system cancels the 60 Hz voltage that appears on both balanced conductorss.