It is currently Sat Jun 15, 2024 4:46 am


Stereo Input Problem MOTU Ultralite Mk5, CueMix5, Win11

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

BarryG

Member

  • Posts: 342
  • Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:52 am
  • Location: USA, MA, Bolton

Stereo Input Problem MOTU Ultralite Mk5, CueMix5, Win11

PostFri Mar 24, 2023 12:57 pm

Have KB/synthesizer that want to use in two modes. First playing without going through my PC -- this works perfectly. Second is to record it with DAW (Audacity) on the PC -- I'm only getting Right output, not Left.

My KB/synth audio outs L & R go directly to L & R inputs on the Mk5. The Main Outs for the Mk5 go to L & R powered speakers. WIth only KB/synth, Mk5, and speakers powered, all works fine, ie, I have perfect stereo from the KB. I think MOTU calls this Direct Monitoring.

If I power on the PC, CueMix5 does not show any signal from the KB L output (Mk5 input), but does show the R output (Mk5 input). I can, however, still play the KB and hear perfect stereo from the L & R powered speakers.

My cables must be OK since I can play directly without PC running. But the DAW can't record what it can't see. So I'm thinking I must have some setting wrong in CueMix or Windows 11, but I can't find it. Settings and levels seem to be the same for my L and R in CueMix and Win 11, but obviously I'm missing something.

Will appreciate any help!!

Barry
Offline

murph

Member

  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:45 pm

Re: Stereo Input Problem MOTU Ultralite Mk5, CueMix5, Win11

PostFri Mar 24, 2023 5:05 pm

Check the stereo panning in Cue-Mix?
Offline

BarryG

Member

  • Posts: 342
  • Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:52 am
  • Location: USA, MA, Bolton

Re: Stereo Input Problem MOTU Ultralite Mk5, CueMix5, Win11

PostSat Mar 25, 2023 9:12 am

Thanks, murph. I just checked and there is no panning being done anywhere.

CueMix simply does not show any signal on the L input for that stereo pair. I re-checked volume/level settings in CueMix and in Windows Sound Settings and found nothing that fixes the problem.

Any other ideas will be much appreciated! Thanks.

Barry
Offline

BarryG

Member

  • Posts: 342
  • Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:52 am
  • Location: USA, MA, Bolton

Re: Stereo Input Problem MOTU Ultralite Mk5, CueMix5, Win11

PostWed Mar 29, 2023 8:35 am

This is resolved. User error. (Mis-connected cable on my KB/synth, very embarrassing!)

Just don't want anyone to waste time on this in the future.

Thanks!
Barry

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests