It is currently Wed Jun 19, 2024 9:51 am


More than one audio interface...

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

More than one audio interface...

PostThu Apr 04, 2024 4:10 pm

Is it possible with HW8 to run two ASIO audio interface units?
Currently I use all my 8 channels for speakers but it would be nice to have the headphone option.
My current 8 channel unit doesn't have a headphone output, but I do have another, older, Focusrite unit around....

Thanks
Offline

mnailor

Member

  • Posts: 1634
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:57 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: More than one audio interface...

PostThu Apr 04, 2024 4:41 pm

HW can only address one audio interface on Windows. I use ADAT to forward audio channels from the audio interface HW sees to the second one. AVB would also allow that.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15554
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: More than one audio interface...

PostFri Apr 05, 2024 4:01 am

Hello Steve,

To add to Mark's reply:

The ASIO architecture only allows a single ASIO driver to be used at a time. However, a few manufacturers have ASIO drivers which allow multiple units of the same make (and maybe also of the same model) to be used at once. (E.g. if I recall correctly at least some RME interfaces support that.) Hence if you have such a model, you might possibly be able to buy another identical one (or compatible one of the same make) and use it together with the original. Check with its manufacturer if in doubt. If it turns out that you can use two or more of them, it would usually be very important to ensure that their clocks are synchronised together (e.g. with Word Clock cables).

Instead expanding via ADAT and/or AVB may be an option if you existing interface has ports for either of those, as Mark mentioned.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

sclg

Member

  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 3:22 pm
  • Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: More than one audio interface...

PostFri Apr 05, 2024 4:25 am

Thanks both.
Back to the drawing board then!
Steve
Offline
User avatar

magnaton

Member

  • Posts: 691
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 6:28 pm
  • Location: Austin, TX

Re: More than one audio interface...

PostSun Apr 07, 2024 7:15 pm

I've never tried this, but couldn't you assign the headphones to the native Windows audio stereo driver? Could these work independently? If so, you would use your computer's 1/8" stereo jack for the headphone feed.

Danny B..
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15554
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: More than one audio interface...

PostMon Apr 08, 2024 3:57 am

Hello Danny,

No -- you can only use one audio driver at a time in Hauptwerk, I'm afraid (to ensure synchronisation).
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests