It is currently Sat May 30, 2020 3:01 pm


HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Site Admin

  • Posts: 1652
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Jul 26, 2011 11:22 am

Dear all,

I finally managed to find the time to write a little page explaining how to add convolution reverb with REAPER or BIDULE for Hauptwerk 4.

Quick and dirty tutorial, but should help all those who contacted me and wanted to convert their HW3 projects to HW4.

You can find the page here

Best regards
François
Best regards
François

Virtually sharing my enthusiasm and experience with you
Worldwide technical assistance, consultation and ready to play system.

http://www.HauptwerkConsultant.com

AND Hauptwerk Support Manager
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12060
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Jul 26, 2011 11:36 am

(Topic moved here and made 'sticky'.)

Thanks for the tutorials, Francois.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

John T.

Member

  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:29 pm
  • Location: Hackensack, NJ USA

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Jul 26, 2011 8:23 pm

Hi François,

Thanks for posting this tutorial. Can this be downloaded also (HW PC not connected to Internet)?
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Site Admin

  • Posts: 1652
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostWed Jul 27, 2011 9:18 am

Dear John,

I added at the beginning of the tutorial a link that will allow you to save a PDF file of the tutorial.

Best regards
François
Best regards
François

Virtually sharing my enthusiasm and experience with you
Worldwide technical assistance, consultation and ready to play system.

http://www.HauptwerkConsultant.com

AND Hauptwerk Support Manager
Offline
User avatar

John T.

Member

  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:29 pm
  • Location: Hackensack, NJ USA

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostWed Jul 27, 2011 7:00 pm

micdev wrote:I added at the beginning of the tutorial a link that will allow you to save a PDF file of the tutorial.

Hi François,

Oops, guess I didn't see that - Sorry.

Thanks...
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Site Admin

  • Posts: 1652
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Jul 28, 2011 1:48 pm

John,

It is normal that you didn't see it... because I added the file after your request.

You can also view a quick video showing how to create a Reaper project and set Hauptwerk and VSTLink

Best regards
François
Best regards
François

Virtually sharing my enthusiasm and experience with you
Worldwide technical assistance, consultation and ready to play system.

http://www.HauptwerkConsultant.com

AND Hauptwerk Support Manager
Offline

amateurorganist

Member

  • Posts: 343
  • Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:34 am
  • Location: South coast, England

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostWed Aug 31, 2011 6:02 am

Thank-you, François, for doing your video tutorial. It was perfect and I was up and running within minutes. The convolution reverb has just transformed my Hauptwerk and sample sets!
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Site Admin

  • Posts: 1652
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Sep 01, 2011 8:33 am

Hey AmateurOrganist,

Thanks! Glad you could easily setup reverb your system. It is indeed quite easy, especially with Hauptwerk 4.

If you own the PAB, load it truncating the reverb tail and try it with some convolution or other reverb solutions (like 2cBreeze). You may discover a totally different instrument... :wink:

Enjoy!
François
Best regards
François

Virtually sharing my enthusiasm and experience with you
Worldwide technical assistance, consultation and ready to play system.

http://www.HauptwerkConsultant.com

AND Hauptwerk Support Manager
Offline

ghinet florentin

Member

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:59 am

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Sep 13, 2011 6:27 am

Hi ! Please, I need some help, it dosn work for me. I use HW 4 free( in basic evaluation i have the same problem), I loaded ST.Annes with HW VSTlink as audio output device, but when I opened the Reaper>File>New project>Insert ,,Virtual instrument on new track,, i didn seen VSTi: Hauptwerk VST Link, just 3 of VSTi Rea... .,,Scan for new plugins,, didn found VSTi Hauptwerk. Where was my fault? Thank you.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12060
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Sep 13, 2011 6:56 am

Hello Ghinet,

You need to make sure that the path to the Hauptwerk VST Link plug-in is included in Reaper's VST plug-ins path. See also page 186 in the Hauptwerk v4.0.0 user guide for a screenshot ('Tutorial: Applying real-time reverb with Reaper 3 on Mac OS X or Windows (with audio via the Hauptwerk VST Link, MIDI via the Hauptwerk VST Link)' section).
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

ghinet florentin

Member

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:59 am

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Sep 13, 2011 9:49 am

Problem fixed.But that Voxengo Pristine not appear for me, only diffrents VST Rea. Must to download it from somewere?
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12060
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Sep 13, 2011 10:28 am

Hello Ghinet,

Pristine Space is a commercial (not free) convolution reverb plug-in made by Voxengo:

http://www.voxengo.com/group/reverb-plugins/

It isn't part of Reaper, so you would need to buy it separately from Voxengo and install it if you wanted to use it.

However, there are several reverb plug-ins (including a convolver) included with Reaper, as covered in our Reaper reverb tutorial in the Hauptwerk user guide. Francois' brief tutorial is a summary/addition to the one in our user guide, so it's important that you read the Reaper reverb tutorial in our user guide too.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

ghinet florentin

Member

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:59 am

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Sep 13, 2011 11:12 am

Now I get it, on the internet are many reverb plugins. I tried Dasample Glace Verb. I notice instead that the sound delay is big comparative with ASIO driver as audio output :( . I suppose i cant fixed that without change my sound card.
Offline
User avatar

pwhodges

Member

  • Posts: 822
  • Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:08 pm
  • Location: UK, Oxford

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Sep 13, 2011 11:19 am

It's not just the drivers. Some implementations of reverb algorithms have considerable latency built in, and others have managed or taken care to minimise or avoid latency. The specification should tell you...

Paul
Offline

amateurorganist

Member

  • Posts: 343
  • Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:34 am
  • Location: South coast, England

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Sep 15, 2011 8:05 am

I have Reaper and using SIR2 (demo) to drive the York Minster reverb thing. I know some real pipe organs have a slight lag but this has quite a lot of latency, enough to put me off playing properly. How do I cut that down? I have set the Hauptwerk latency thing as low as I can (1024, I think). How do I improve the lag in SIR/Reaper?
Next

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests