Search:
Submit Search


Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Postby minktor » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:51 am

Hallo, (please excuse my bad english!)
I'd like to do the following example:

Organ with 5 manuals but only 3 Keyboards available.
The first 3 are mapped to the Keyboards.
Is it possible, f.e. to create a mapping of the 4. manuls to the 3. keyboard
by pressing any unused keyboard key. Using screen or piston is well-known, but
I don't like to leave the keyboard by pressing touchscreen or pistons.

Thanks

minktor
minktor
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Postby mdyde » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:04 am

Hello minktor,

[Topic moved here.]

Here's a previous forum topic that covers it:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=15697&p=117686#p117607

mdyde wrote:You can certainly use a sample set that has more virtual manuals than you have physical MIDI manuals. In general, you can either:

- Simply ignore the 4th virtual manual. Or:

- Connect (auto-detect) two virtual keyboards to a single physical MIDI keyboard, so that the MIDI keyboard always played both virtual keyboards simultaneously, effectively behaving like a single virtual division, but with the additional stops on it. Or:

- Play it via couplers (the couplers included natively within the sample set, where applicable, and/or Hauptwerk's master couplers on the 'View | Large control panels | Master couplers' screen). Or:

- Use Hauptwerk's floating divisions to allow you to flip the assignments of one or more physical MIDI keyboards around amongst multiple virtual keyboards as you play, changing the assignments using MIDI pistons/buttons. The 'Registration menu: floating divisions' section in the main Hauptwerk user guide covers that (pages 110-117 in the current v4.2.1 version).

Here are some relevant previous topics:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14765
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13990
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=8909
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15608


The last of those suggestions (floating divisions) are probably what you're hoping for. You can switch their routes whilst playing by auto-detecting the route selection buttons to MIDI pistons or spare MIDI keys.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10644
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Postby profeluisegarcia » Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:13 pm

Hello Minktor, welcome to this fascinating HW world and community .

I could send you an illustrated tutorial about Floating Divisions (prepared by our fellow Evert-Jan, from Holland).
Just send me a @mail in a Private Message (just tick the box PM under my name at right side and write).

Luis
User avatar
profeluisegarcia
Member
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Manizales, Colombia

Re: Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Postby mnailor » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:20 pm

Martin,

Is there any way to transfer a set of scoped master pistons along with a floating division? I can't figure it out.

Thank you.
mnailor
Member
 
Posts: 420
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:57 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Postby mdyde » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:28 pm

Hello nmailor,

No -- that isn't possible, I'm afraid.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10644
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Postby minktor » Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:57 pm

Sorry dear profeluisegarcia,
I havn't got your offered manual until now.
Something is running wrong.
Please help!

minktor
minktor
Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:53 pm

Re: Changing manuals using the Keyboard

Postby profeluisegarcia » Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:49 pm

Hello.The tutorial was in my home computer and I just came back. You will have today around 10 PM EST :wink: ¡
Best regards
User avatar
profeluisegarcia
Member
 
Posts: 774
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Manizales, Colombia


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest