Search:
Submit Search


Using a Hauptwerk PC with more than one console

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Using a Hauptwerk PC with more than one console

Postby kaspencer » Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:28 am

We have, as part of the standard HW installation, four configuration sets accessible from the desktop, each independent of the others. As I understand it, they are independent in terms of
- audio configuration (channels, groups etc);
- sample sets installed and configured (all aspects);
- keyboards, pedalboard, continuous controllers, stop and combination controls (LaunchPads).

However, I have used up all four configuration sets as part of my standard setup and need a strategy for taking my Hauptwerk PC to a different console, configuring that new console for use, and later returning my PC to my standard console setup.
I would like to leave all sample sets and their audio channel usage in place, but configure the keyboards+pedalboard/stops/pistons etc of the new console to work without taking up any of the Alt HW configurations.

So, will this work safely:
If I make an HW backup of the configuration with my standard console, then setup the new console, and then later restore the backed up standard configuration when I return the PC to my standard console, will that work safely or will some aspects of the standard configuration (e.g. LaunchPads) be omitted from the standard backup/restore?
Or should I just be safe and make a copy of the rather massive directory C:\Hauptwerk to restore later?

Thanks indeed

Kenneth Spencer
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mine.nu
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mine.nu/project.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
User avatar
kaspencer
Member
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

Re: Using a Hauptwerk PC with more than one console

Postby mdyde » Wed Jun 28, 2017 6:42 am

Hello Kenneth,

kaspencer wrote:As I understand it, they are independent in terms of
- audio configuration (channels, groups etc);
- sample sets installed and configured (all aspects);
- keyboards, pedalboard, continuous controllers, stop and combination controls (LaunchPads).


It's correct that the four configurations are independent in terms of all general settings and organ settings (including, for example, all MIDI settings, all audio settings and audio routing, all voicing, and general preferences and organ preferences).

However, all installed organs (as distinct from their settings), and all combinations, are shared between the four configurations.

The 'Understanding the configurations' section in the main Hauptwerk user guide (page 18 in the current v4.2.1 version) covers what's independent, vs. what's shared, in more detail.

kaspencer wrote:However, I have used up all four configuration sets as part of my standard setup and need a strategy for taking my Hauptwerk PC to a different console, configuring that new console for use, and later returning my PC to my standard console setup.
I would like to leave all sample sets and their audio channel usage in place, but configure the keyboards+pedalboard/stops/pistons etc of the new console to work without taking up any of the Alt HW configurations.

So, will this work safely:
If I make an HW backup of the configuration with my standard console, then setup the new console, and then later restore the backed up standard configuration when I return the PC to my standard console, will that work safely or will some aspects of the standard configuration (e.g. LaunchPads) be omitted from the standard backup/restore?
Or should I just be safe and make a copy of the rather massive directory C:\Hauptwerk to restore later?


Hauptwerk's native backup facility backs up *all* settings, all combinations, and all other user data (but not the installed sample sets themselves), so if you restore a backup later you will get your settings back exactly to the point in time at which the backup was made, and there should never be a need backup the raw directories themselves.

The 'Backing up and restoring your settings and data' section in the user guide (page 25) covers what's included in a backup in full detail.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10356
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Using a Hauptwerk PC with more than one console

Postby dhm » Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:18 am

To add to Martin's reply, I think I'm right in saying that after restoring settings from a backup, all sample-sets will re-cache (Martin, please correct me if I'm mistaken).
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
User avatar
dhm
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Re: Using a Hauptwerk PC with more than one console

Postby mdyde » Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:34 am

Correct.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10356
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: Using a Hauptwerk PC with more than one console

Postby kaspencer » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:27 pm

Thanks for that, Martin, and for the reminder about the re-cache, Douglas.

All my beliefs about backup have been confirmed - the best possible answer!

Best wishes,

Kenneth Spencer
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mine.nu
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mine.nu/project.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
User avatar
kaspencer
Member
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

Re: Using a Hauptwerk PC with more than one console

Postby mdyde » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:29 pm

Thanks, Kenneth.

You're very welcome.
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10356
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests