Search:
Submit Search


Setting stops from two pistons AND launchpad

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Setting stops from two pistons AND launchpad

Postby hytheman » Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:49 pm

I am running Salisbury on a homemade 4 manual console. A few stops are controllable from two pistons (eg. Tuba from both a manual piston and a pedal piston). Easy, as one is set to Primary Input and the other to Input 2. Now I have added a Launchpad there is a problem as I cannot have a third input.
Is there anyway around this so I could control the Tuba from 2 pistons AND Launchpad?
Many thanks.
hytheman
Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 11:59 am

Re: Setting stops from two pistons AND launchpad

Postby engrssc » Thu Jun 28, 2018 7:03 pm

The only way I see to do that is to physically connect both (manual) thumb and the toe piston in parallel to the primary input freeing up the secondary input for the LaunchPad button.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5510
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Setting stops from two pistons AND launchpad

Postby IainStinson » Thu Jun 28, 2018 7:18 pm

Instead of trying to control the Tuba from the pistons as a stop, why not
a. control the tuba from the Launchpad - this allows the Tuba to be turned on and off from a Launchpad button.
b use HW's master reversible pistons to operate the Tuba stop. (Autodetect the piston and toe piston to be a master reversible piston; clear all stops; turn on the Tuba; press and hold SET and touch one of the piston you assigned to be the reversible piston; release SET). Save the combination file (master reversibles are stored in combination files).

The pistons (you can have two inputs for a reversible piston too) once set up will reverse the state of the Tuba stop, and the launch pad can turn the stop on or off (as usual).

Iain
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: Setting stops from two pistons AND launchpad

Postby organsRgreat » Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:54 am

In many parts of Hauptwerk, if you auto-detect more than one control for a particular action, a dialogue box comes up saying this action is already assigned to (whatever), and asking whether you want to clear the former setting or keep both. So far as I know there's no limit to the number of controls for one action.

I just tried this on the Paramount 450, and was able to set three controls to turn on and off the Great Tuba Horn 8ft - one on-screen piston and two computer keys. Just try it and see - if you get in a muddle there's an option to clear all settings.
organsRgreat
Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:30 am
Location: England

Re: Setting stops from two pistons AND launchpad

Postby engrssc » Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:21 am

This last suggestion is a good one. I forgot about that option.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5510
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jwillans and 3 guests