Search:
Submit Search


Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby kaspencer » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:16 am

Good morning all.

I know I am getting old but I cannot quite work out how to output Stop Names, be it by user-defined text, or outputting the standard names for the stops as present in the sample set. The User Guide seems a little coy on the subject!

I have my own hardware/software devices which can detect and display Hauptwerk's MIDI messages, and I am planning to implement one of these to display Stop Names on an array of OLED panels (although it does not matter whether I use LCD or OLED technology) as an organ loads/initialises. But before starting to set up the OLED array, I would like to ask:

- If I bring up the dialogue: "MIDI LCD Panel for this organ" and then Insert "Open Diapason 8' /" into the Left Pane, I can see on the Right Pane that "Display Info/Format for LCD line 1:" is expecting "... (fixed user-defined label text)". Presumably this is entered into the "Fixed label prefix". Is there any way of using the Stop Names embedded in the Sample Set?
- Am I correct in assuming that I need to create a separate entry in the Left Pane for each Stop which I wish to label?

The MIDI implementation Information, to which there is a link, is just a little too vague to make these points instantly clear, so confirmation of these points would be much appreciated.
Is any further more explicit documentation available, or can I put upon Martin for information once again?

Many thanks

Kenneth Spencer
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mywire.org
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mywire.org/opus_ii.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
User avatar
kaspencer
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby ludu » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:09 pm

Hello Kenneth,

I have a console with 180 virtual LCDs. Unfortunately, there is no way to transfer automatically the stop names of the sample set to your OLED or LCD. You have to do it manually for each stop. And special characters are not recognised.

Cordially,
Last edited by ludu on Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby engrssc » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:18 pm

ludu wrote:You have to do it manually for each stop.,


Assume just the first time for each sample set, yes?

How easy is it to read the stop names? Use abbreviations possibly?

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5861
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby ludu » Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:57 am

Hello Ed,

After you have created or changed your stop names, you will recover them the next time you open HW, if you close it properly, or if you make a backup from the file menu. If you have a console with a start/sop button shutting down your computer directly, you will lose your work. In this case, you have to use the first method described above.

The quality of the display depends on what you choose. On the market, you have 2 types of LCD (RGB backlight positive or negative), OLED or e-paper/e-ink displays. You can use abbreviations, but some characters are not yet recognised in the current version of HW. For instance, you cannot write acute, grave or circumflex accents, or any umlaut (ö) and linked letters (œ). This list is not exhaustive, but if you think about other examples, I can make a test for you and tell you the result trying on my console.

Best regards,
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby kaspencer » Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:35 pm

Thanks, Ludu, and Ed.

Good news generally, as I have now worked out what needs to be done and have tested quite a bit of it. The Hauptwerk manual is more of a Layout of Menu Structure than a detailed guide or how best to acheive what you need to do, so it required a bit of thought to see exactly what was required.

Ed, I haven't found that Hauptwerk has "forgotten" any data entry so far - perhaps it would if it crashed after data had been entered. Maybe "File->Save any Unsaved Data ..." would insure against such a loss.

(Incidentally, I have noted during the development of my software for the Arduino, that, if I unplug or otherwise disconnect the device while Hauptwerk is running, and then close Hauptwerk down, there will be an error message as it closes. (During software development it isn't unusual for a device to become disconnected - Ye Olde Chinese Proverb say: "He who programs in C under Windows, he reboots often but learns quickly!"). I didn't note the error number but I will next time that happens.

It would be so nice if Hauptwerk could fill in the text of the Stop Labels say, from a drop down list, and then allow it to be edited within the text box. (Future Enhancement ???)

OK ... back to work.

Ken
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mywire.org
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mywire.org/opus_ii.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
User avatar
kaspencer
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby NickNelson » Sat Nov 10, 2018 6:07 pm

kaspencer wrote:(Incidentally, I have noted during the development of my software for the Arduino, that, if I unplug or otherwise disconnect the device while Hauptwerk is running, and then close Hauptwerk down, there will be an error message as it closes.


HW outputs several MIDI messages as it closes down, possibly this may be cause of the error if it can't find the device.

Nick
User avatar
NickNelson
Member
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby kaspencer » Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:58 pm

Thanks, Nick ...

... that sounds like a very feasible explanation.

Ken
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mywire.org
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mywire.org/opus_ii.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
User avatar
kaspencer
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby IainStinson » Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:40 pm

Hi Ken
do yo mid sharing what panels you are using? Do they incorporate the switch or are you using a separate switch?

Many thanks.

Iain.
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: Getting Stop Names out to LCD Panels ...

Postby kaspencer » Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:16 am

Thanks Ian ...

IainStinson wrote:Hi Ken
do you mind sharing what panels you are using? Do they incorporate the switch or are you using a separate switch?


I am experimenting with SSD 1306 0.96" single colour OLEDs, with an Arduino Due.

My current stop jambs use separate 1.2" Lit Arcade push buttons - these are excellent. However, I need 120 (2x60) stops (for the largest organ), which I can fit onto my jambs without the OLEDs, I think I will have to use 16mm buttons instead, to make room for the OLEDs.

That's my current state of play. I will be writing another post closely relating to this one, immediately after I hit the button on this one, as I have noted an issue on what Hauptwerk does regarding clearing the labels when an organ is unloaded or a different one is loaded.

Best wishes,

Ken
Kenneth Spencer
Music Site: http://www.my-music.mywire.org
Project Page: http://www.my-music.mywire.org/opus_ii.htm
Books on Hauptwerk and Computing; Novation Launchpad overlays: http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/kaspencer
YouTube Videos: http://www.youtube.com/kaspenceruk
User avatar
kaspencer
Member
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: UK, England, Wiltshire.


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests