Search:
Submit Search


Action of stepper

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Action of stepper

Postby hotfingers » Mon Nov 05, 2018 1:46 pm

I think I'm missing something obvious — I can't seem to get any response from the stepper. I'm in the Registration window and I have combinations programmed in the Master Generals 1–20 (which work) but there's no obvious action from the up/down buttons. The stepper display moves up and down from 0–20 but no stop changes.
Do I somehow need to tell the stepper what to control? If so, I can't see it.
Please tell me what I'm missing!
hotfingers
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:16 am

Re: Action of stepper

Postby IainStinson » Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:10 pm

The registration stepper is separate from the generals. You set the combinations specifically for the stepper. See page 90 and following in the manual.
Iain
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: Action of stepper

Postby josq » Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:11 pm

Hello! The stepper arrows only control the stepper frames, not the master generals.
josq
Member
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Action of stepper

Postby hotfingers » Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:03 pm

Thanks both. I did read p.90 onwards but think I need to read it several more times! I fear that too many years sitting at conventional console are pre-conditioning my thinking!

So to be clear, there is no immediate way of making the stepper operate on the generals as it would on a 'normal' instrument?
hotfingers
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:16 am

Re: Action of stepper

Postby josq » Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:53 pm

I can't think of any straightforward possibility to do that. Better copy your master general registrations to the stepper frames.
josq
Member
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: Action of stepper

Postby Erzahler » Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:15 pm

How do you do that copy josq?
Erzahler
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:48 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Action of stepper

Postby Erzahler » Mon Jan 28, 2019 2:34 am

HELP.
I am still having trouble with how I can get cominations into the stepper.
Say I have 12 general combinations set up for a piece but I want to use them as 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 2, 6, 7, 2, etc.
I need to go back to #2 every so often.
Can someone please spell out the step by step process for doing this please.
I have the combinations named, in favourites and selected.
When I try to load them I either get a combination of stops I didn't set or I loose them all.
Thanks a million.
Erzahler
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:48 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Action of stepper

Postby David Baldwin » Mon Jan 28, 2019 6:55 am

It is quite simple. General 1 to stepper 1 etc. When you want general 2 again, that become stepper 6. And then general 6 loads to stepper 7 etc. The johanus organs use the general settings as the stepper. But you still have to store the settings more than once if a previous general setting is required again.
(Dr.) David G. Baldwin
User avatar
David Baldwin
Member
 
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 1:08 pm
Location: Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, UK

Re: Action of stepper

Postby OrganoPleno » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:51 am

hotfingers wrote:The stepper display moves up and down from 0–20 but no stop changes.
Do I somehow need to tell the stepper what to control?


First, get all the registrations you will need stored as General Combinations. Then set the Stepper to Zero. Now press the First General (that you want for Stepper Position #1). Then press and hold "Set", then press "Advance Stepper" and release "Set". This saves that Combination into Stepper Position #1. Now press the General that you want for Stepper Position #2. Then Press and hold "Set", then press "Advance Stepper" and release "Set". This saves that Combination into Stepper Position #2. And so forth, "step by step". That's why it's called a "Stepper"!
OrganoPleno
Member
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: Action of stepper

Postby Andrew Grahame » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:53 pm

The general pistons and the stepper are separate. However the stepper is similar to general pistons in that each stepper setting captures the entire instrument.

You will need to save your combinations to the stepper in the same manner as saving to pistons.
Andrew Grahame
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:51 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Action of stepper

Postby Erzahler » Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:49 am

Thanks everyone I'll see how I go.
Erzahler
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:48 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Re: Action of stepper

Postby Andrew Grahame » Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:04 am

Programming a sequence such as 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 2, 6, 7, 2 - where 2 keeps coming back - this is done by re-saving Step 2 again further down the sequence. This particular examples has 9 steps, of which the 2nd, 6th and 9th use the same registration.
Andrew Grahame
Member
 
Posts: 839
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:51 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Action of stepper

Postby Erzahler » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:51 am

First, get all the registrations you will need stored as General Combinations. Then set the Stepper to Zero. Now press the First General (that you want for Stepper Position #1). Then press and hold "Set", then press "Advance Stepper" and release "Set".

Thanks because it won't work if you do it in the wrong order as I had been.
Erzahler
Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:48 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest