Search:
Submit Search


Problem connecting MIDI

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Re: Problem connecting MIDI

Postby magnaton » Sat Jan 12, 2019 4:24 pm

User avatar
magnaton
Member
 
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:28 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Problem connecting MIDI

Postby organtechnology » Sat Jan 12, 2019 11:28 pm

JoseCarlosArantes wrote:Hello to all Hauptwerk team and followers.
I'm exploring Hauptwerk on my Viscount Vivace 40 for the first time to see if Hauptwerk is a good program to buy.
But, I'm having problems connecting the midi.
I have Windows 10 on my computer and I bought a Midi cable that says supports to the maximum Windows 8.1.
So the problem is this. My windoes and Hauptwerk recognise the Viscount and appears OK in the MIDI IN of the Hauptwerk, however, I try to manual and automatically connect the keyboards to the channels but fails.
Automatically, when we need to press the lowest and highest note, nothing happens to click on the 'done' button.
Manually, I make the connection on the channels on hauptwerk and my Viscount, but nothing happens too.
Can be the problem of my Windows 10 or the cable?

I appreciatte all the helps I can get.
(Sorry about my english).


Hello Jose,
One important thing I do not see in the other answers is; "Only connect ONE MIDI connector of the two to the organ. Connect the MIDI-in connector of the MIDI cable to the MIDI-out connector of the organ. Leave the other MIDI connector disconnected for now.
If you connect both it often starts a "feedback loop" which can cause some of the things you describe.

Another thing, some MIDI connectors on a MIDI cable will say "IN" and "OUT" while others will say "TO IN" and "TO OUT" TO-IN is the OUT connector and TO-OUT is the IN connector. And I again repeat connect only the MIDI in connector to the MIDI out of the organ, at least at the beginning.

Thomas from Organtechnology.
Complete VPO systems powered by Hauptwerk™. Real Wood Consoles, PC or MAC Computer Sound Modules, Audio for Home or Church.
info (at) organtechnology.com http://www.organtechnology.com

Authorized Hauptwerk Dealer; Milan Digital Audio Dealer..
User avatar
organtechnology
Member
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:58 pm
Location: DFW, TX USA

Re: Problem connecting MIDI

Postby JoseCarlosArantes » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:58 am

Hello Thomas, thank you for your help.
First of all, my cable says only OUT and the other cable IN.
As I said, once, there was a brief connection when some keys appeared to work on the console screen. I can't remmeber correctly but I think I leave one of the cables disconnected just like you said in your post.
Yesterday, I tried with the same cable and other PC on a different organ but didn' work too.
I ordered a Roland UM cable, let's see if something better happens. I hope so.

Thank you again.
JoseCarlosArantes
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:16 am

Re: Problem connecting MIDI

Postby organtechnology » Sun Jan 13, 2019 1:29 pm

JoseCarlosArantes wrote:Hello Thomas, thank you for your help.
First of all, my cable says only OUT and the other cable IN.
As I said, once, there was a brief connection when some keys appeared to work on the console screen. I can't remmeber correctly but I think I leave one of the cables disconnected just like you said in your post.
Yesterday, I tried with the same cable and other PC on a different organ but didn' work too.
I ordered a Roland UM cable, let's see if something better happens. I hope so.

Thank you again.


Hello again,

In your case please connect the IN MIDI connector to the MIDI OUT of the Viscount organ. If there are any switches on the MIDI Cable, please advise their name and settings. Connect the USB end of the cable to the computer USB connector. Start the computer and run the MIDI monitor program (MIDI-OX or MIDI Mon, etc.)
This program will tell you the MIDI data being sent and the channels they are sent on. Once you determine the MIDI being sent, you can then determine if it is compatible with Hauptwerk. Sometimes the 'settings' in the organ must be changed or the MIDI must be turned on in the organ. If you have TeamViewer on your computer, we might want to link up and let me see what is happening.

Best regards,

Thomas
Complete VPO systems powered by Hauptwerk™. Real Wood Consoles, PC or MAC Computer Sound Modules, Audio for Home or Church.
info (at) organtechnology.com http://www.organtechnology.com

Authorized Hauptwerk Dealer; Milan Digital Audio Dealer..
User avatar
organtechnology
Member
 
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 5:58 pm
Location: DFW, TX USA

Re: Problem connecting MIDI

Postby JoseCarlosArantes » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:54 pm

Thank you once again for your help Thomas.

As I said, I'm waiting for my new Roland UM One MIDI cable, and then I will follow all the instructions you guys gave me and also the manual guide.
I tried the MIDI Medic program and unfortunately nothing happened.

If the problem continues, I will appreciate if you can help me using the TeamViewer.

Thank you,
José.
JoseCarlosArantes
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:16 am

Re: Problem connecting MIDI

Postby JoseCarlosArantes » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:55 am

Hello,

Good news, the problem was in the 'cheap' cable.

I bought a Roland UM one mk2, I made the keyboards MIDI configuration manually and it works perfectly.


Thank you all!
JoseCarlosArantes
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:16 am

Re: Problem connecting MIDI

Postby engrssc » Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:56 am

Good to hear it's working. Congrats. :)

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5974
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Previous

Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests