Search:
Submit Search


Hauptwerk not playing all notes of a rank

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

Hauptwerk not playing all notes of a rank

Postby EricMcK » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:16 pm

Recently, in a HW Advanced installation, we reset HW to factory settings in order to troubleshoot some hardware problems. However, since then, a new problem has developed.

The console is a four-manual Classic Midiworks build. After resetting HW, Swell and Choir manuals no longer play all the notes within some ranks. Specifically:

From C1 to E1, the black keys play.
From F1 to E2, the white keys play.
From F2 to E3, the black keys play.
From F3 to E4, the white keys play.

And so on up through the top of both manuals. Note: only certain ranks of the organ are experiencing this problem; others play all notes, just fine. This happens in three different sample sets. It's very frustrating. Any ideas what might be going on?
EricMcK
Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 1:12 pm
Location: Salem, OR

Re: Hauptwerk not playing all notes of a rank

Postby IainStinson » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:40 pm

I assume you've checked that the keys are actually moving the keys on the virtual console: if they aren't perhaps it is a problem with the midi transmission from the keyboards. You could use HW midi logging or a tool such as MidiMedic to check this. As you say some ranks are fine, then this is probably unlikely.

Does the organ have multi channel output configured? I have experienced some notes not sounding when the amps for some channels are not working. From your description, for some ranks it would appear that the sound allocation algorithm which assigns "pipes" to the C and C# "side" is being used and one of the audio outputs is not working. I suggest you might look at the configuration of the output system and check the audio hardware.

(Resetting HW's settings to "factory" conditions may reset the audio settings. You could recover them from one of the HW backups.)

Good luck.

Iain
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 735
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: Hauptwerk not playing all notes of a rank

Postby EricMcK » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:55 pm

Thanks Iain - the organ does have multi-channel output set up. It's a pretty simple config - two pairs of satellites and a subwoofer.

When a key is pressed, the corresponding virtual key is also depressed on the screen. No problem there.

After resetting HW, we put the audio routing back the way it had been prior. For whatever reason, this time not all the notes speak for certain ranks, but the mapping is the same as it was prior.
EricMcK
Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 1:12 pm
Location: Salem, OR


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests