Search:
Submit Search


8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.

8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby ludu » Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:10 pm

Hello,

Currently, HW only allows 4 pistons for ’Trigger +1'. Up to now I’ve used Bome’s Midi Translator in order to reach 8 pistons for this task, but my configuration becomes an unmanageable labyrinthine system, and I’ve decided to give up with this method. I’ve tried the following one, without Midi Translator.

Except one combination for the General Tutti, I don’t use the reversible combinations.
1) Setting one of the many other reversible combinations (B01), I’ve put a piston as input and an unused note (060) on an unused channel (07) as output.
2) In the ’Trigger +1' setting, I’ve put this same note (060) on the same channel (07) and the same MIDI PORT as input. I had expected that pressing my piston, ’Trigger +1' was working, but it doesn’t. :(

This tip should have given a large number of pistons for only one function. Why does it fail? Do you see another way to reach 8 pistons for ’Trigger +1'?
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby Mixtuur4st » Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:10 pm

So simple: just wire them all in parallel.

Enjoy, Jack.
Mixtuur4st
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:13 pm
Location: Breda, the Netherlands

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby ludu » Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:17 pm

Mixtuur4st wrote:So simple: just wire them all in parallel.

Enjoy, Jack.

Indeed, if I was able and allowed to do it (my console is under warranty).
I’ve to find a software solution.
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby Mixtuur4st » Thu Jul 25, 2019 3:29 pm

In that case, if I were you, I would have a telephone call to the supplier of your console.
Because any hardware solution is, by definition, superior to a software workaround.

Rgds, Jack.
Mixtuur4st
Member
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:13 pm
Location: Breda, the Netherlands

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby ludu » Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:10 pm

Thanks for the suggestion, but I prefer a software solution, cheaper and reversible if I change of opinion concerning the organisation of my 140 thumb pistons. I’m sure a tip does exist.
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby evertjan » Thu Jul 25, 2019 4:49 pm

A reversible combination works the same as a stop: turning something (stops, couplers, etc. ) on and pushing the button again turning them off.

For example: in case of your tutti you have programmed all stops, couplers, etc. on a reversible.
Pushing this button tutti turns on. Pushing again, the registration goes to the previous state: only those stops stays on, which are on before pushing the button the first time. An on/off functionality.

A reversible cannot be used for a Trigger+1 function.

In Hauptwerk I don't see a solution for this function if using more than 2 buttons.

Solution is hardware (wire all +1 buttons parallel) or software (the Bome's MIDI translator). Give the latests a change again. First remove the old one by using Revo-uninstaller (https://www.revouninstaller.com/product ... ller-free/ and download the Portable version). Unzip the download and start the program; no installation needed. First Revo will uninstall Bome and next step is a scan for leftovers. Chose "delete".
After that restart the PC and install Bome again and configure it.
evertjan
Member
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:46 pm

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby ludu » Thu Jul 25, 2019 5:29 pm

I already use the reversible combinations successfully to turn the pages of my music scores in PDF format, on an external PC. Although they are supposed working like an ON/OFF command, their behaviour is compatible with a simple ON command when they are empty, because they remain turned off. It works very well (however between 2 different computers), and this is the reason I’m trying to apply the same method for the ‘Trigger +’ function.

For your information, currently the ‘Trigger’ commands are possible with 4 different pistons: ‘Primary input’ and ‘Input 2’ for the conventional setting, and the same for the corresponding setting named ’(inp 3/4)’.

A long time ago, Martin wrote he planned to add more inputs for this command in the next version of HW. It would be a shame transforming physically my console before this new release. And regarding to Bome’s Midi Translator, I’m in contact with the support team – very devoted – but my configuration is too complex because my console sends the Midi signals through 5 different interfaces.

I continue my research and keep you informed in case of success…
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby OrganoPleno » Fri Jul 26, 2019 10:57 am

ludu wrote:Thanks for the suggestion, but I prefer a software solution


Can you Program your Pistons to select what MIDI message they send? If so, then use Hauptwerk to set one of your Pistons to the "Trigger +1"... and then Program the other seven Pistons to send the exact same MIDI message (channel number and so forth...). Then Hauptwerk will think they are all the same Piston! Problem solved...
OrganoPleno
Member
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby ludu » Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:04 am

Indeed, it would be a dream. Unfortunately, my console doesn’t allow those settings.
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby engrssc » Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:57 am

ludu wrote:For your information, currently the ‘Trigger’ commands are possible with 4 different pistons: ‘Primary input’ and ‘Input 2’ for the conventional setting, and the same for the corresponding setting named ’(inp 3/4)’.


Where are these inputs 3/4 located? I've not needed more than 2 inputs, so never looked for more.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5926
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby ludu » Sat Jul 27, 2019 9:24 am

Hello Ed,

You’ve to go to Organ settings –> MIDI/Key Triggers... and you’ll find Registration: stepper: trigger -1 (inp 3/4) and Registration: stepper: trigger +1 (inp 3/4).

Cordially,
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby engrssc » Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:06 pm

Got it, thanks.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5926
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby IainStinson » Sat Jul 27, 2019 7:07 pm

This device could be worth looking at https://www.midiboutique.com/MIDI-Processors/mr4
Whilst as standard it will only give you one more “advance” piston, they say the can provide a custom configuration. Might be worth asking...
Iain
User avatar
IainStinson
Member
 
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 7:08 pm
Location: NW England, UK

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby ludu » Sun Jul 28, 2019 5:22 am

IainStinson wrote:This device could be worth looking at https://www.midiboutique.com/MIDI-Processors/mr4
Whilst as standard it will only give you one more “advance” piston, they say the can provide a custom configuration. Might be worth asking...
Iain

Thanks Iain. My console builder is incapable, ill will and bad faith, but this information could be very interesting for other organists, in the case of DIY consoles.
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: 8 Pistons For TRIGGER +1

Postby organsRgreat » Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:05 am

I don't want to complicate my installation by trying this, but it just might be worth investigating: some of Hauptwerk's own buttons offer the facility to “Right click to change function or appearance”. Ones that do this include General Cancel, the master Setter, Stepper Cue forward 10, Stepper Cue back 10 (and others). If they are not already showing, use “View > Piston toolbars” and choose the first option. When you right click, and work through the menu that appears, “Stepper +1” is one of the options. Hauptwerk may still block it if you already have four ways of activating Stepper +1, but worth a try?
organsRgreat
Member
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:30 am
Location: England


Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest