It is currently Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:41 am


Two Organists

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jrball

Member

  • Posts: 142
  • Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:07 pm
  • Location: Virginia, US

Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 2:44 pm

If two or more organists wish to play the same organ they will probably want their own combinations settings.
How can this be accomplished in Hauptwerk?
Offline
User avatar

dhm

Member

  • Posts: 1120
  • Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
  • Location: Rochester, UK

Re: Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 2:51 pm

Use one of the alternate configurations (Alt. Config. 1, 2 or 3).
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
Offline
User avatar

jerrymartin

Member

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:01 pm
  • Location: Portsmouth, OH

Re: Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 2:58 pm

jrball wrote:If two or more organists wish to play the same organ they will probably want their own combinations settings.
How can this be accomplished in Hauptwerk?


I would also suggest if it's "just" combination settings (pistons) then this is very easily done with
Registration->Load combination set ...
It is possible to save entire combinations as a favorite and even cycle through and load these from pistons if desired. (Because we are using a computer there is essentially infinite combination storage: per organist, per piece, etc)
Jeremiah Martin,
Portsmouth, Ohio
Offline
User avatar

dhm

Member

  • Posts: 1120
  • Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 11:50 am
  • Location: Rochester, UK

Re: Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 3:02 pm

Thanks, Jerry. You’re right, of course. That’s a much easier solution.
Douglas Henn-Macrae
Authorized Hauptwerk Reseller
http://www.midi-organs.eu / http://www.gundulf.org.uk
Offline
User avatar

jerrymartin

Member

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:01 pm
  • Location: Portsmouth, OH

Re: Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 3:12 pm

dhm wrote:Thanks, Jerry. You’re right, of course. That’s a much easier solution.


Absolutley - the joy of our forum is many minds can find many solutions!!
Jeremiah Martin,
Portsmouth, Ohio
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 6313
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 3:33 pm

jerrymartin wrote:the joy of our forum is many minds can find many solutions!!


I esp like the ones that actually work. :lol:

Rgds,
Ed
Offline
User avatar

jerrymartin

Member

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:01 pm
  • Location: Portsmouth, OH

Re: Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 4:27 pm

engrssc wrote:
jerrymartin wrote:the joy of our forum is many minds can find many solutions!!


I esp like the ones that actually work. :lol:

Rgds,
Ed


Indeed!

And OH MY GOODNESS - I just read Martin's most recent post about how MacOS Catalina install will break even HW4 installation due to new folder organization. This is a snake pit into which I would most certainly have fallen. Fortunately, I had not pulled the trigger on a Catalina upgrade knowing how such movements can break audio drivers (painful experience couple of OS versions ago).

Honestly I am glad of this extra time to become fully invested in the shared knowledge here which will hopefully generate a functional and painless upgrade when time comes.

(I also keep a TimeMachine backup of my mac just in case everthing goes down in flames on the first attempt :)

Thank you Martin and the MDA team!!

Jerry
Jeremiah Martin,
Portsmouth, Ohio
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 6313
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Two Organists

PostSat Nov 30, 2019 5:22 pm

jerrymartin wrote:I also keep a TimeMachine backup of my mac just in case everthing goes down in flames on the first attempt



On my Windows machine, I fairly regularly clone the main "C" drive which also copies the OS onto the cloned (SSD) disk which makes it bootable, a totally separate, independent backup system. The backed up (cloned) disk lives in the spare disk space of the computer itself. Only need to switch the data cables on the MOB. 8)

I use the free AOMEI Backupper Standard cloning software:

https://download.cnet.com/AOMEI-Backupper-Standard/3000-2242_4-75833997.html.

Unfortunately for Mac people. Backupper only is available for Windows. There is also the check box feature to shut down the computer when thrcloning is finished

So before I upgrade, I'll do the clone bit for obvious reasons. :wink:

Rgds,
Ed

Rgds,
Ed

Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests