It is currently Thu Apr 02, 2020 1:41 pm


HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

mwdiers

Member

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:33 am

HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 2:17 pm

When I have the audio in HW5 Advanced configured to use the AU/VST Bridge, Hauptwerk crashes when it is activating audio. This happens whether I am loading an organ at the time, or changing the audio output on an already-loaded organ.

The AU/VST Bridge does work correctly to receive MIDI, so long as I have audio routed to a system device.

Specs: Macbook Pro 16", 64Gb RAM, i9 8-core.
OS: Catalina (10.15.2)

What I have tried:
Backup user settings.
Uninstall Hauptwerk. Delete all Hauptwerk directories. Verified that the AU/VST components are gone from both the System and user Library locations.
Reboot
Installed Hauptwerk, using default locations.
Reboot
Installed all license packages, and all my organs (4 in all)
Left all Hauptwerk settings at default, except for the AU/VST Bridge for audio.
Attempted to load the MasterWorks Skinner. Crashed on audio activation.

Here is a link to the crash logs: https://f001.backblazeb2.com/file/mwdiers-sharing/Logs/Hauptwerk%20AU-VST%20Bridge%20Crash.txt

Here is a link to a sample of the Hauptwerk process which was running when a crash occurred: https://f001.backblazeb2.com/file/mwdiers-sharing/Logs/Hauptwerk_2019-12-13_123630_bzS5.sample.txt
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11825
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 2:39 pm

Hello mwdiers,

Thanks for the logs. It's definitely working well for me here on macOS 10.13.6.

Does it still crash if no other audio/MIDI applications (e.g. AU/VST hosts) are open?

If (still with no other software running) you try a 'spare' 'Hauptwerk (alt config N)' configuration, with all-default settings, and change just its audio output device setting to be the AU/VST Link, then load St. Anne's, does it still crash? Thanks.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mwdiers

Member

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:33 am

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 2:44 pm

mdyde wrote:Hello mwdiers,

Thanks for the logs. It's definitely working well for me here on macOS 10.13.6.

Does it still crash if no other audio/MIDI applications (e.g. AU/VST hosts) are open?

If (still with no other software running) you try a 'spare' 'Hauptwerk (alt config N)' configuration, with all-default settings, and change just its audio output device setting to be the AU/VST Link, then load St. Anne's, does it still crash? Thanks.


The crash happens even if no other audio/MIDI applications are running.

In my testing, I did start with a clean default configuration. BUT, I just tested now on an unused Alt configuration, and low and behold, St. Anne's does not crash. I then loaded the Skinner on that same config, and the skinner crashed it.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11825
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 2:54 pm

Thanks for the additional tests. I'll set up the MasterWorks Skinner here to test it with the AU/VST Link.

In the meantime:

- Does your main configuration work with the AU/VST Link for audio if using St. Anne's?

- Could you send me a diagnostic file, saved from the spare/testing configuration that you used? I'll send you a P.M. with my direct email address

Thanks again.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mwdiers

Member

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:33 am

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 2:59 pm

I tested everything I have.

Does not crash:
Polyphony test instruments
St. Anne's
Pipeloops Fuehrer Riddagshausen
Redeemer Aeolian-Skinner

Crashes:
MasterWorks Skinner
St. Eucaire de Metz CC

The obvious distinction here is that both of my sample sets which require their own iLok license are crashing with the bridge. Instruments which use standard iLok encryption (St. Anne's and the Fuehrer), or instruments that are entirely unencrypted (the Redeemer Aeolian-Skinner), do not crash with the bridge.
Offline
User avatar

mwdiers

Member

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:33 am

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 3:01 pm

I tested the St. Anne's on my main config. It does not crash.

The issue does seem to be related to iLok.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11825
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 3:03 pm

Thanks again. I'll try to see if I can reproduce it with the MasterWorks Skinner tomorrow. (It's downloading now.) In the meantime, if you could still send a diagnostic file, there's some chance it might show something useful. Thanks.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mwdiers

Member

  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:33 am

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 13, 2019 3:05 pm

mdyde wrote:Could you send me a diagnostic file, saved from the spare/testing configuration that you used? I'll send you a P.M. with my direct email address


Sent.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11825
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostSat Dec 14, 2019 8:08 am

Thanks for the diagnostic file.

I can reproduce that the Paramount 320 crashes for me (on both Windows and macOS) upon audio activation if, and only if, the Hauptwerk AU/VST Link is selected as the audio output device in Hauptwerk. The MDA MasterWorks Skinner behaves the same on macOS, but works properly for me with the AU/VST Link on Windows. St. Anne's, and other organ definitions installed with Hauptwerk, do appear all to work properly with the AU/VST Link. I've written up a bug entry here, pending further investigation (which I will get to absolutely as soon as I can, but it's an extremely busy right now, just after the v5 release):

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=17970&p=135506#p135506

My apologies for that bug.

This topic also covers it: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=18002&p=135507#p135507
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline

josq

Member

  • Posts: 787
  • Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostSat Dec 14, 2019 8:45 am

I use Reaper as a host for room correction software, so if this bug is common to many sample sets I hope it will get some priority.

Ideally, for the long term, it would be nice if HW would support plugins for e.g. room correction, other virtual instruments, etc
Offline

josq

Member

  • Posts: 787
  • Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostSat Dec 14, 2019 8:47 am

Just thinking... For Reaper, using rearoute may be a workaround
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11825
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostSat Dec 14, 2019 8:53 am

Hello josq,

It will definitely be fixed for v5.0.01, and absolutely as soon as I can (but it's extremely busy right now -- sorry).

Yes -- Rearoute could be a good alternative for now.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline

josq

Member

  • Posts: 787
  • Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:11 pm

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostSat Dec 14, 2019 9:24 am

Thanks a lot! I plan to test HW5 and everything next week. If rearoute is a good workaround then it is much less critical to me
Offline
User avatar

blueband95

Member

  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 5:32 am
  • Location: Katzweiler, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostThu Dec 19, 2019 6:13 pm

mwdiers wrote:Crashes:
MasterWorks Skinner
St. Eucaire de Metz CC

The obvious distinction here is that both of my sample sets which require their own iLok license are crashing with the bridge. Instruments which use standard iLok encryption (St. Anne's and the Fuehrer), or instruments that are entirely unencrypted (the Redeemer Aeolian-Skinner), do not crash with the bridge.


Experiencing exactly the same behavior with the same two sample sets on a Mac running High Sierra.

This a pretty serious issue for me, as I use both of these sets regularly, and use Reaper with my setup to adjust levels by division, as discussed previously on another thread. All the best for a successful fix.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11825
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW5 crashes with AU/VST Bridge when activating audio

PostFri Dec 20, 2019 5:18 am

Hello blueband95,

It will be addressed for v5.0.1absolutely as soon as we can: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=17970#p135111 . Again, my apologies for the bug.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron