It is currently Mon Jul 06, 2020 12:56 pm


Sonar and reloading projects

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mike Ludwig

Member

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:00 am
  • Location: San Diego, California

Sonar and reloading projects

PostTue Dec 19, 2006 2:13 pm

Hello, I got HW2 working in Sonar 6 but when I load a saved project, all MIDI responses are dead. I have thoroughly checked that all settings are the same before and after the project is opened and saved, and they are all identical, but when I play notes on the MIDI keyboard AFTER opening a saved project nothing happens.

I tried deleting and adding new MIDI tracks and there is no response from the keyboard (but clicking on organ keys in the plugin works fine).
Thank you for the help.
Offline

Mike Ludwig

Member

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:00 am
  • Location: San Diego, California

PostTue Dec 19, 2006 3:07 pm

Even more strange, I just noticed that upon reloading of a saved project, even though there is no MIDI response on the MIDI track assigned to Hauptwerk when I play notes, if I record-arm the same MIDI track and play notes, the MIDI data is recorded anyway, and will play back when I hit play, but during the recording process there is no MIDI activity and no sound is heard. Has anyone had this problem as well?
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12145
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

PostWed Dec 20, 2006 12:18 pm

I've just been having a look at this, and it's working properly for me, in that I can create a new Sonar project (blank template), insert Hauptwerk as a soft synth, load an organ, assign it to a stand-by slot and select that as the VST program (so that the organ loads automatically with the Sonar project), create a MIDI track for it with its output set to Hauptwerk channel 2 (Great), record some MIDI notes to the track, and then play them back via Hauptwerk as expected.

If I reload the project, with or without closing Sonar, I can still play the track back and Hauptwerk responds as expected, and it responds normally to a MIDI keyboard.

Can you check that the track's output is still set to Hauptwerk, that the MIDI channel is correct (2 for Great), that Hauptwerk's MIDI channels are still at their defaults on 'General settings | MIDI input paths' (Great should be 2) and that the virtual keyboards are assigned in the expected order on 'Organ settings | Connect keyboard MIDI inputs to organ keyboards' (Great -> Great etc.)?

Please also check that no MIDI outputs are enabled in Sonar using 'Options | MIDI devices'.

Do you have the same problem with all organs or just one? Does the problem occur using other VST instruments?

I did have a similar problem at one point in the past, in that Sonar developed a strange habbit of stopping sending any MIDI to VSTis, but upgrading from Sonar v5.0 to 5.1 seemed to fix it. However, it may have been due to some other factor, e.g. a Sonar setting. I haven't so far seen that happen since I've been using Sonar 6.

Best regards,
Martin.
Offline

Mike Ludwig

Member

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:00 am
  • Location: San Diego, California

PostWed Dec 20, 2006 12:57 pm

Hi Martin, thanks for the reply. I was able to assign it to a stand-by slot but could you please elaborate on how you select that as the VST program (so that the organ loads automatically with the Sonar project)? I hope this is where the problem lies.

As to your other questions, all is as it should be; no matter what I do I can't get any MIDI response from either of my MIDI keyboards (only after reloading a saved project) even though they are both showing up in the track's input menu, and are highlighted in Sonar's MIDI input window, but the saved file still plays fine though. I did discover that it is happening to any other VST I use AND it does NOT happen with Sonar's native DXI plugins (those load fine, recall presets, and MIDI functions properly) so I guess I have a bug somewhere on my system and will need to contact Cakewalk.

I found a workaround that I guess I can live with: load a saved project, delete the instance of Hauptwerk, reinstate it, set the new HW synth track to 'no output (or input)', activate the 1st HW synth track (to recall my saved effects, otherwise this wouldn't be necessary) by selecting a MIDI input, delete the second synth track. It sounds like a pain but this is the only way I was able to recall a saved project with effects and MIDI response. I would just like to know how to save the HW organs in the project file. Thanks for your help as always.
Mike
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 12145
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

PostWed Dec 20, 2006 1:11 pm

Hello Mike,

was able to assign it to a stand-by slot but could you please elaborate on how you select that as the VST program (so that the organ loads automatically with the Sonar project)?


You just need to select the organ name in the drop-down list of values at the top of the VST plug-in's window. They correspond to the stand-by organs in Hauptwerk, and the selection is saved in the project.

If it is happening with other VSTis, then it must indeed be a Sonar issue, and so would need to be raised with Cakewalk. Please let us know the result!

Thanks and best regards,
Martin.
Offline

Mike Ludwig

Member

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 1:00 am
  • Location: San Diego, California

PostWed Dec 20, 2006 1:23 pm

Thanks Martin, well, I still don't get any MIDI reaction upon reloading a project but the organ loaded with the project! That's great; I will let you know if I find a solution to this.
Mike

Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests