Page 1 of 1

Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 12:11 pm
by golfgrrl
I've been using HW V, running on Win 7 Pro for a few years. I just bought a second monitor (Merry Christmas to me!!). :D Both are ViewSonic model #TD 2230. I'm new to dual-monitor use, and I'm unable to find any instruction online or in the HW manual about dual setup procedure. I'd like to send L stop jamb to monitor 1, and R stop jamb to monitor #2. Both displays are being detected in Control Panel/Appearance/Display/Screen Resolution. If I open two windows on monitor #1, I can set one window to L jamb, and the other as R jamb. I'm just not sure how to send the contents of the second window to monitor #2. (Perhaps opening a second window isn't the way to go about this.)
My display settings options in windows are: 1) Duplicate these displays 2) Extend these displays 3) Show desktop only on #1 4) Show desktop only on #2.
I can also see that there's a place to set up monitor #2 (or 3, or 4) under the View menu in HW.
I've googled and searched a few HW forums, but can't find step-by-step instructions. The HW manual simply says it's possible to set up a second monitor, but doesn't go into any detail. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Thanks, and Merry Christmas! GG

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 12:47 pm
by mnailor
I think you use the Extend displays option, then drag one Hauptwerk window to the other monitor. I've done this with other apps, but don't have two displays on HW, but it's worth trying.

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 12:48 pm
by mdyde
Hello Golfgrrl,

Yes -- that's the way to do it.

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 1:46 pm
by golfgrrl
It took me a little while to understand what you meant, until I realized that you literally grab a window and drag it “off the edge” of the monitor. What fun!! Thank you!!

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 1:55 pm
by mdyde
Thanks, Golfgrrl. Have a good Christmas.

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 2:01 pm
by golfgrrl
Unfortunately, the touch screen function isn’t working on the new monitor. I’ve checked to make sure that the USB cable is connected, and I’ve tried a different USB port, but no luck so far. Any thoughts?

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 3:06 pm
by micdev
Hi,

Open Windows control panel then click "Hardware and sound | Tablet Pc settings "

In the Table Pc Setting windows, click "SETUP" . You will be able to identify (by touching with your finger) your touchscreen monitors.

I know that we can use 2 TD2230 with Windows 10, not sure though that 2 can work with Windows. Don't remember if I used 2 in some of my older Hauptwerk projects (Windows 7)

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 4:16 pm
by burtonwurli
I had this problem setting up dual monitors. I found that after booting up I had to switch the second monitor USB to another socket every single time I booted up,(hot plugging) and it would only work berween 2 specific usb sockets.

Eventually I used a Belkin 4x4 USB hub and both monitors now work OK though only thru one specific USB socket on the PC

Although I built my own desktop PC for Hauptwerk I am no geek. I believe that the problem probably lies somewhere in the registry, but whilst it works I am not going to fix it

Hope this helps

Derek

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Fri Dec 25, 2020 10:44 pm
by golfgrrl
While Francois’ solution works, I am experiencing the problem described by Derek.
I will test with a USB hub tomorrow. Solid advice; thank you all!

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 8:13 am
by golfgrrl
After a few days' experimentation, I believe I have stumbled upon a fairly inexpensive solution to your problem, Derek. I happened to have a Belkin USB hub, model #F4U040. With the Belkin hub, both monitors worked correctly at first. But after I rebooted, the second monitor lost its touch input and never worked correctly again. I tried several different ports, plugging one monitor into the Belkin hub and the other directly into a USB port, etc. Then I remembered that I had purchased a powered USB hub for my laptop a few weeks ago in order to run a multi-cam setup for our online worship services. It's a Startech ST4300PBU3. https://www.startech.com/en-us/cards-adapters/st4300pbu3 I purchased the Startech hub online at Sweetwater.com for $25.99 USD https://www.sweetwater.com/, but it is available at Amazon for around the same price. After plugging both monitors into the Startech hub, I'm happy to report that, so far, it works consistently with all my sample sets that allow L/R stop jamb setup. I believe this is the solution I was looking for. THANK YOU, everyone! Have a very happy, healthy 2021!

Re: Dual monitor setup steps?

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 11:56 am
by burtonwurli
Very pleased you found a solution. My monitors are still plugged into the Belkin 4x4 which continues to work both powered or unpowered. It seems to defy logic, only working on one usb outlet on the PC. I did incidentally try 3 different sets of USB cables to no effect. I am however aware that cables can make a big difference. I have been tidying up my setup by using shorter cables and rerouting. A new shorter midi cable kept causing the midi to lock up so I resorted to the original and everything has been OK since.

Derek