Search:
Submit Search


NeilJensen sample set license

Existing and forthcoming Hauptwerk instruments, recommendations, ...

NeilJensen sample set license

Postby Thomday » Mon Jul 03, 2017 4:57 pm

Where can I find the license request for the 3-35 sample set series.I need to load all four sets onto a new computer.
Thanks,
Thom
Thomday
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:15 pm

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby Andrew Grahame » Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:01 pm

It's my understanding that licences reside within the dongle, not the computer. As long as you still have the installation media you should be able to install your sample sets on a different computer, then connect your dongle to that computer and it should all work.

Andrew
Andrew Grahame
Member
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 12:51 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby NickNelson » Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:30 am

Yes, that's been my experience.

Nick
User avatar
NickNelson
Member
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby mdyde » Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:35 am

Hello Thom,

Yes -- to confirm others' replies, all licences are contained within the Hauptwerk USB key. They aren't computer-specific, or platform-specific, so no action is need in order to use the key/licence on another computer (other than to make sure that Hauptwerk, and the sample sets, and the USB key driver, are installed on it).
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10361
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby Thomday » Fri Jul 07, 2017 3:54 pm

Thanks for the replies. I want to install the sample sets on a new commercial version of Hauptwerk, on a new computer, so would the dongle from our current version work on a newer version? Doing this would temporarily disable our current working setup.
Thanks
Thom
Thomday
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:15 pm

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby OrganoPleno » Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:34 pm

Thomday wrote:I want to install the sample sets on a new commercial version of Hauptwerk, on a new computer, so would the dongle from our current version work on a newer version?


Same dongle, no problem. Just be sure to install the latest Drivers for the Dongle onto the new Computer... available from the Hauptwerk.com website under "Downloads".
OrganoPleno
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby engrssc » Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:51 pm

If you will be using the dongle with 2 separate organs, something like this might be useful. The USB port (bracketed) can be mounted under the key desk (of each organ) and plugged into the computer's USB connector. The dongle can easily be connected and transferred.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-5mm-Car-Dashboard-Flush-Mount-USB-2-0-AUX-Socket-Extension-Lead-Panel-Cable/361487959606?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D555018%26algo%3DPL.SIM%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D44840%26meid%3D54dfff7ff9ce48c199faa6e7eaa98038%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D182088914871

This unit also has a 1/8" TRS 3 circuit socket for connecting aux audio such as a headset.

Rgds,
Ed
User avatar
engrssc
Member
 
Posts: 5093
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby Thomday » Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:42 pm

Thanks All:
Ok, I guess I wasn't clear. New computer, commercial version of Hauptwerk,and new dongle for commercial version. Sample sets in current use on a different computer system that will remain in use for our home installation, thus no need to change dongles between systems. Thus, I can use the dongle for our current home system to install sample sets on new computer and then apply for a license update on commercial version with its dongle installed? After that, I can then do a back up from our home system to the commercial version for all settings and voicing done on our home system?
Thanks
Thom
Thomday
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:15 pm

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby OrganoPleno » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:17 pm

Thomday wrote: New computer, commercial version of Hauptwerk,and new dongle for commercial version. Sample sets in current use on a different computer system that will remain in use for our home installation, thus no need to change dongles between systems.


With one license, on one dongle, you could use this on one or more computers as you see fit. But to use a Sample Set on two computers independently you'd have to have two paid licenses, one on each dongle.

Thomday wrote:Thus, I can use the dongle for our current home system to install sample sets on new computer and then apply for a license update on commercial version with its dongle installed?


That would work. Install on new computer with old dongle, as a licensed installation. Then (be sure to EXIT HAUPTWERK before removing or inserting any dongle!) switch to the new dongle, and the installed Sample Set will appear unlicensed. Then use that computer to apply for a paid license update through the new dongle.

Thomday wrote:After that, I can then do a back up from our home system to the commercial version for all settings and voicing done on our home system?


Do both systems use the same operating system? This kind of thing can get tricky so I'll leave it for others to comment. For myself, I do all of my backups by hand simply by copying all of the relevant files to and from all of the relevant places. Assuming you know what those all are.
OrganoPleno
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby OrganoPleno » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:24 pm

OrganoPleno wrote:That would work. Install on new computer with old dongle, as a licensed installation. Then (be sure to EXIT HAUPTWERK before removing or inserting any dongle!) switch to the new dongle, and the installed Sample Set will appear unlicensed. Then use that computer to apply for a paid license update through the new dongle.


Of course you can also install any Sample Set on the New Computer as an unlicensed installation without ANY use of the old dongle. Either no dongle at all, or just the new dongle which licenses the commercial Hauptwerk. Then apply the license update as normal.

In other words, the fact that you already have that Sample Set licensed on a different installation is really quite irrelevant. The only difference is if you want to actually see the sample run (for some reason) on the new system before getting the new license.
OrganoPleno
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 5:08 pm

Re: NeilJensen sample set license

Postby mdyde » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:09 am

Hello Thom,

To add to others' replies:

Thomday wrote:Ok, I guess I wasn't clear. New computer, commercial version of Hauptwerk,and new dongle for commercial version. Sample sets in current use on a different computer system that will remain in use for our home installation, thus no need to change dongles between systems. Thus, I can use the dongle for our current home system to install sample sets on new computer and then apply for a license update on commercial version with its dongle installed?


Yes:

- You can perform licence updates from any computer, provided that the Hauptwerk USB key to which you wish to apply the licence update is attached to the computer at that time (and that no other Hauptwerk USB key is also attached to the computer, to ensure that the intended one gets updated).

- You can also install any given sample set using any given Hauptwerk USB key, provided that the USB key contains a licence for the sample set you're installing (otherwise Hauptwerk won't be able to install its organ definition).

Thomday wrote:After that, I can then do a back up from our home system to the commercial version for all settings and voicing done on our home system?


You can certainly restore a backup from one computer on another and it will transfer all of your voicing, combinations, and settings. However, if the relevant MIDI port/device names differ at all between the two computers then you would need to auto-detect your MIDI settings again (since each control's MIDI settings are auto-detected relative to the MIDI port name). Likewise if the audio device name differs then you might need to select the 'new' device for each audio output (although that should only take a few moments).
Best regards,
Martin.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Image
User avatar
mdyde
Moderator
 
Posts: 10361
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: UK


Return to Hauptwerk instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests