It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:50 am

Simple or photorealistic stops screen

Existing and forthcoming Hauptwerk instruments, recommendations, ...
  • Author

Jan Loosman

Simple or photorealistic stops screen

PostFri Oct 23, 2020 7:18 am

In the 1925 Steinmeyer topic a discussion started about simple or photorealistic stops screens.
To broaden this discussion for other sample sets / producers i started this topic.
For me personal i like the simple jambs a lot.
Sometimes you leave a sampleset unplayed for several months and then starting a sample set again and then you have to figure out again how the stops are distributed over the keyboards is annoying!
Also the eye sight comes in play . Becoming older (i am 61) everyone’s vision will worsen and the photorealistic jambs can become more challenging to read.
I my case, i am not a purist organist but a recreational player.
In my profession being a dentist, i have to strain my eyes everyday, so at home, playing my organ for leisure, i don’t want to continu straining my eyes on difficult screens to read, but i prefer to have easy to use and read, uncluttered screens.

What is your opinion?

Jan Loosman
Last edited by Jan Loosman on Fri Oct 23, 2020 6:03 pm, edited 3 times in total.

voet

Re: Simple or photorealistic stops screen

PostFri Oct 23, 2020 10:27 am

Background: my Hauptwerk setup is consists of a 3 manual console and a single 22 inch monitor. I currently have 9 sample sets.

From a purely aesthetic perspective, I usually prefer photorealistic (PR) screens. For smaller sample sets this can be completely satisfactory. Piotr Grabowski's Giubiasco sample set has a beautiful PR screen that captures the essence of the original organ and is easy to read and use.

https://piotrgrabowski.pl/giubiasco/