It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:40 am

San Francisco Skinner CPU time

Existing and forthcoming Hauptwerk instruments, recommendations, ...
  • Author

mnailor

San Francisco Skinner CPU time

PostWed Nov 15, 2023 12:15 pm

When loaded with no stops drawn, this organ has the Hauptwerk (8) process using 9 - 10% of the CPU steadily. No audio bus activity indicators are lit, so nothing is generating audio. I've disabled the blower and there's no convolution reverb or tremulant motor. Switching from sampled to modeled trems also doesn't change it.

I don't have any other organs with a noticeable background CPU utilization when idle [TURNED OUT NOT TO BE TRUE -- SEE BELOW]. Any ideas what this could be? Maybe the tremmed ranks are always running as a background layer?

Thanks!
Last edited by mnailor on Wed Nov 15, 2023 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mdyde

Re: San Francisco Skinner CPU time

PostWed Nov 15, 2023 12:23 pm

Hello Mark,

I have no experience with that organ myself, but as a test you could try disabling the wind model on the Organ Preferences screen, to see whether that's the culprit.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

mnailor

PostWed Nov 15, 2023 1:50 pm

Good guess! Disabling the wind model dropped it from 10% to 5%. Then lowering model processing from highest to lowest dropped it to 2%.

Now that I understand it, I'm leaving it with wind model enabled and medium model processing for 9% steady CPU utilization. It doesn't keep me from using full organ.

San Francisco at 3 mic positions x 88 ranks is a fairly large organ.

Thanks!

mdyde

PostWed Nov 15, 2023 2:24 pm

Thanks, Mark. You're very welcome.
Best regards, Martin.

mnailor

PostWed Nov 15, 2023 4:18 pm

Oops. Observation shortcoming. It seems I hadn't played some organs with Task Manager up to notice their CPU utilizations with the organs loaded and idle:

Doesburg: 10%
San Fran: 10%
Billerbeck: 8%
Nancy: 3%

mdyde

PostThu Nov 16, 2023 3:36 am