It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 7:23 am

My main organ - before and now

Existing and forthcoming Hauptwerk instruments, recommendations, ...
  • Author

pasztor

My main organ - before and now

PostSun Aug 16, 2009 5:26 am

Let me start with a few words about myself: my name is Attila Pásztor, I have a degree in electrical engineering and in teaching IT. Currently I am mostly teaching IT in a high school for talented children (in the Fazekas Mihály Secondary School) in Budapest, Hungary. Besides my science studies, I have been learning the organ and of course, the piano for 10 years. Between 1989 and 1998, as the organist of the Zoltán Kodály Hungarian Choir School, during the tours I had the chance to play many-many organs in the U.S., England, Germany, Austria, the Czech Republic, Italy and Belgium. In my free time, in the week-ends, I am performing organ duties in several churches.

I have been planning for years to have an organ at home for practice. An instrument with real pipes was out of the question because of the neighborhood; and I did not like the sounds, the stop sets and the quality of the materials in the console of the electronic organs I could afford (with 3 manuals and about 40 stops). I felt that no middle-class electronic instrument is adequate to play a wide range of organ literature.