Search:
Submit Search


How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.

How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Postby ludu » Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:09 pm

Hello,

An alias of Hauptwerk is in my startup folder (Windows 7), but since I’ve installed an external SSD containing the ‘sample sets and components’ folder, Hauptwerk refuses to start because my SSD is not recognised immediately. Therefore, I need to start Hauptwerk with a short delay.

I suppose Auto Hot Key can do it, but I’m not familiar with its syntax. Can anyone help me to write this script? Or is there another way to delay the opening of software simply? Thanks in advance.
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Postby evertjan » Sun Mar 17, 2019 5:21 pm

You can do it by a cmd file

Remove het Hauptwerk shortcut from the startup folder and place a CMD file

Contents of the CMD file is

Code: Select all
@echo off
timeout /T 2 > NUL
start C:\"Program Files"\"Hauptwerk Virtual Pipe Organ"\"Hauptwerk.exe



With /T 2 the sleep is 2 seconds. You can change this.


Startup folder can be reached by
Windows Key + R and type shell:startup
evertjan
Member
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:46 pm

Re: How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Postby ludu » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:24 pm

Many thanks, evertjan!
If I understand correctly, I’ve just to copy your syntax and paste it into a text file, and then change its extension to ‘.cmd’. Is it right?
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Postby evertjan » Mon Mar 18, 2019 4:31 am

That's correct Luc.

This is for the default Hauptwerk environment. If this must be HW config1, then it must be

Code: Select all
@echo off
timeout /T 2 > NUL
start C:\"Program Files"\"Hauptwerk Virtual Pipe Organ"\"Hauptwerk (alt config 1).exe"

(the last command is on 1 line; no return after config)

And the HW shortcut must be removed from the startup folder.
evertjan
Member
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 1:46 pm

Re: How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Postby ludu » Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:13 am

Great! It works perfectly, and without any additional program like AHK.
Many thanks again.
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)

Re: How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Postby RichardW » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:18 pm

I don't know whether this will be of any use but there are a couple of delay options built in to Hauptwerk. One is connected with the dongle and the other with the audio driver. It will depend which side of those actions your issue occurs.

It is on p 138 of the 4.2.1 Hauptwerk Manual under "General settings menu".

Regards,
Richard
User avatar
RichardW
Member
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:16 am
Location: UK

Re: How to start Hauptwerk with a delay?

Postby ludu » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:48 pm

Hello Richard,

My problem (now resolved) was not there. Hauptwerk refused to start because it wasn’t able to find the ‘sample sets and components’ folder, located on an external disk. Now that Hauptwerk start with a short delay, the external disk has the time enough to be recognized before Hauptwerk start.

But many thanks for your post…

Cordially,
User avatar
ludu
Member
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:52 am
Location: Tournai (Belgium)


Return to Computer hardware / specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests