It is currently Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:24 am


Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

Latest updates to Hauptwerk.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 11:35 am

Dear all,

Hauptwerk v5.0.0 has been extensively tested by us (and by beta testers, and sample set producers, over the past 10-ish months prior to its release). However, inevitably some bugs, and other issues, will be found now that it's available publicly. In this thread I'll list any such key issues that people may need to be aware of. My apologies for any bugs in advance, and we'll aim to make sure that any important ones get addressed as a matter of high priority for v5.0.1.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 11:37 am

HAUPTWERK FREEZES WHEN STOPPING MIDI RECORDING WITH SPECIFIC COMBINATION OF RECORDING OPTIONS:

Hauptwerk v5.0.0 freezes when stopping MIDI recording if (and only if) exactly the following combination of recording options are ticked on Hauptwerk's 'Recorder/player' large control panel:

- 'Arm audio recording': *not* ticked.
- 'Arm MIDI recording': ticked.
- 'Prompt for name': *ticked.

As a temporary work-around, please use any other combinations of those those options. For example, ensure that 'Arm audio recording' is also ticked when recording MIDI (or that 'Prompt for name' is not ticked).

(This is a bug, and we'll make sure this gets fixed properly as a matter of priority for v5.0.1.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 11:46 am

IF UPGRADING TO v5 ON A MAC THEN YOU NEED TO UNINSTALL AND DELETE THE PREVIOUS HAUPTWERK INSTALLATION FIRST:

VERY IMPORTANT: If you have Hauptwerk v2/v3/v4 installed, then it's very important that you uninstall Hauptwerk completely (and delete all files/folders) BEFORE you install Hauptwerk v5+, then finally install v5+ using its (10.15-safe) default installation locations (or choose custom locations that are not on the Mac's internal drive).

Please see this topic, which covers it in depth: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=17850

(This is needed in order for Hauptwerk to be able to be compatible with the changes Apple made in recent macOS versions; it isn't a bug in Hauptwerk, but we'll make sure those instructions get added to the 'Upgrade/re-installation steps on an Apple Mac computer' section in the main Hauptwerk user guide for v5.0.1.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Dec 12, 2019 1:45 pm

HAUPTWERK CAN FREEZE IF INSTANTANEOUSLY SEVERELY OVERLOADING POLYPHONY RELATIVE TO YOUR POLYPHONY LIMIT SETTING:

Hauptwerk v5.0.0 can freeze if you instantaneously and severely overload polyphony, relative to your current polyphony limit setting. For example, if you draw all stops and couplers on the St. Anne's organ, then play a chord on all of its virtual keyboards at once, with the polyphony limit setting set much too low (e.g. 256) to be handle the instantaneous polyphony demand, then Hauptwerk may freeze.

As a work-around, please simply ensure that the polyphony limit setting (on the 'Audio, MIDI and Performance' large control panel) is set sufficiently high, in order comfortably to be able handle the instantaneous polyphony demands that are likely to be required when playing (such as at least four times the maximum instantaneous polyphony demand expected). v5.0.0's polyphony management system should then work properly to drop polyphony as unobtrusively as possible for normal playing.

(This is a bug, and we'll make sure this gets fixed properly as a matter of priority for v5.0.1.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostSat Dec 14, 2019 7:39 am

HAUPTWERK CAN CRASH WHEN STARTING AUDIO IF USING THE HAUPTWERK AU/VST LINK FOR AUDIO OUTPUT WITH CERTAIN SAMPLE SETS:

If using the Hauptwerk AU/VST Link for audio output (on Windows or macOS), then Hauptwerk can crash when starting audio (which happens straight after an organ has loaded, for example). This happens only with certain sample sets.

This is a bug in v5.0.0 and we'll make sure it gets fixed for v5.0.1.

In the meantime, the only work-around is to avoid using the Hauptwerk AU/VST Link as an audio output device with affected sample sets, instead selecting your audio interface/driver as the audio output device in Hauptwerk. (In that case, make sure that no other audio software is running at the same time as Hauptwerk, otherwise there could be contention between the applications for access to the audio device.) For example, if you are only using the Hauptwerk AU/VST Link as a means to apply real-time reverb, then you could consider using Hauptwerk v5's native impulse response reverb functionality instead.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 8:56 am

HAUPTWERK v5 USES MORE MEMORY THAN v4 (TYPICALLY ABOUT 1 GB EXTRA, WITH THE ADVANCED EDITION):

Hauptwerk v5 should use a similar amount of memory for the data for any given organ itself, compared to v4, but v5 does need to use additional RAM for real-time processing. In particular, the Advanced Edition's new features (especially audio mixer/routing/reverb and voicing functionality) are likely to require very roughly 1 GB of extra memory when audio/MIDI is active, compared to v4. (The exact figure will depend on various factors, such as the polyphony limit setting and whether any reverbs are loaded.) The v5 Lite Edition will also require some more memory when audio/MIDI is active, compared to v4, but the difference should be much less than 1 GB.

Hence if certain organs were almost filling your computer's memory in v4 then you will need to reduce their memory requirements via the 'Organ | Load organ, adjusting rank audio memory options' screen (by disabling some ranks, or setting them to load in lower audio resolutions, or with multiple loops or releases disabled, for example).

As with previous Hauptwerk versions, Hauptwerk needs to keep all of its data locked into physical RAM in order to avoid audio glitches (resulting from operating system paging). Also, the operating system, drivers, and other applications running on the computer need some RAM in order to be able to function properly. Hence (as with previous versions) it is very important that you don't over-fill your computer's memory. If you do, the computer may become sluggish, audio, or other other applications, may stop working properly, or the computer may even crash. Hauptwerk's 'Free GB' meter is (and can only ever be) a rough estimate, and we would recommend keeping a reasonable margin free for safety.

(This is not a bug as such in Hauptwerk itself, but we will see whether we can make it use less RAM for v5.0.1, and clarify in the release notice that v5 does need to use significantly more RAM for real-time processing than v4 did, which should be bourne in mind when upgrading.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostWed Dec 18, 2019 1:07 pm

RANKS MIGHT NOT PRODUCE SOUND BY DEFAULT IF YOU LOAD A 'NEW' ORGAN, AND YOU HAD PREVIOUSLY MIGRATED YOUR HAUPTWERK v4 AUDIO ROUTING TO v5:

If, when your first launched Hauptwerk v5, you migrated (as opposed to discarded/reset to defaults) your v4 audio routing, then when you subsequently load in v5 an organ that you had never previously loaded in v4, ranks might initially be routed to a non-intended/empty audio mixer bus group, so you might not initially hear them. To fix that you can do either of the following:

    - Load the relevant organ.

    - Go to the 'Organ settings | Advanced audio routing ... | Rank routing ...' screen.

    - Highlight all ranks in the left-hand rank browse list.

    - In the right-hand pane change their 'Ranks output perspective (front/main): Destination mixer bus group' settings (all simultaneously) to your intended/desired (non-empty) audio mixer bus group.

    - OK the screen.
Or: you could reset all audio routing (for all organs) to defaults as follows:

    - Go to the 'General settings | General configuration wizard' screen.

    - Make sure that both of the 'Discard migrated Hauptwerk v4 audio settings and reset audio device settings' and the 'Discard migrated Hauptwerk v4 audio settings and reset audio routing settings' options are ticked, and un-tick all of the other 'reset' options.

    - OK the screen, then select/confirm your audio device when prompted.

    - Load each of the organs in turn that you had already previously loaded in v5, then use the 'Organ settings | Organ configuration wizard' with just the 'Reset rank routing ...' option ticked, then OK the screen.
The latter approach is particularly recommended if Hauptwerk's default audio routing (which is preconfigured for simple stereo output, and for simple surround output, and for sub-woofer/reverb mixes, and for multi-channel audio with 4 stereo pairs of speakers all in a single group, and for applying reverb) is sufficient for your requirements. (The 'Audio routing and impulse response reverb ...' chapters in the main Hauptwerk user guide [pages 166-201 in the current v5.0.0 version] cover Hauptwerk's audio routing functionality in depth.)

(This case was an oversight in the v4->v5 audio routing migration. However, since audio routing will already have been migrated for many people, unfortunately it can't retrospectively and automatically be resolved. We'll see whether we can improve on it in v5.0.1 for future people upgrading to v5.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostTue Jan 07, 2020 6:14 am

A FEW WINDOWS 10 PCs EXHIBIT STRANGE ISSUES/CORRUPTION IF OTHER APPLICATIONS ARE LAUNCHED WHILST HAUPTWERK v5.0.0 IS ACTUALLY RUNNING

A few PCs running recent Windows 10 versions seem to behave strangely and/or exhibit other applications corrupting memory (especially if other applications are launched whilst Hauptwerk v5.0.0 is running). (Most Windows 10 PCs and pre-10 versions of Windows appear not to exhibit the problem.) It appears that the issue occurs because Hauptwerk v5.0.0 asks Windows to allow it to keep more of its data in memory initially than v4 did.

(This isn't actually a bug as such in Hauptwerk v5.0.0 -- the values that Hauptwerk v5.0.0 requests are valid. However, for v5.0.1 we will revert Hauptwerk to making memory requests in smaller chunks, as v4 did, which appears to resolve the issue on affected PCs.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 11596
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk v5.0.0 list of known issues of note

PostThu Jan 09, 2020 12:17 pm

FULL-SCREEN MODE MIGHT NOT GET RESTORED PROPERLY WHEN CLOSING THEN RE-LAUNCHING HAUPTWERK v5.0.0 ON macOS 10.13+ [BUT IT WORKS PROPERLY ON WINDOWS]

On a Mac running macOS 10.13 or later: if closing Hauptwerk when in full-screen mode, then the windows might not get restored properly to full-screen sizes when re-launching it. [However, full-screen mode does restore properly on the Windows platform.]

As a work-around, if you want to use full-screen mode then please exit full-screen mode before closing Hauptwerk each time, and then re-enter it when launching it.

(This is a confirmed high-priority bug in the multi-platform library that we use internally for Hauptwerk. We need to await a fix from the makers of that library, so unfortunately we won't be able to address this for v5.0.1.)
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]

Return to News, announcements and forum rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests