It is currently Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:05 am


Notre Dame Metz suitable for 8GB Quad Core

Existing and forthcoming Hauptwerk instruments, recommendations, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Patrick Schoenbach

Member

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:06 am

Notre Dame Metz suitable for 8GB Quad Core

PostTue Sep 16, 2008 5:28 pm

Hi,

would the extended version of the above mentioned organ work well on an 8GB Quad Core, if sample compression would be enabled?
Regards,
Patrick
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Member

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

PostTue Sep 16, 2008 5:53 pm

Hi Patrick,

I have a Q9450 + 8 gigs and Metz extended is very happy, loading at 24 bits + loss less compression and all the realism option on.

No cracking or sound artifact even with all the stops and couplers playing Widor 6th Symphony (full chord both hands and pedals played simultaniously with both feet).

You'll love it!
Offline

Patrick Schoenbach

Member

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:06 am

PostTue Sep 16, 2008 5:58 pm

How much RAM does it take approximately?
Regards,
Patrick
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Member

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

PostTue Sep 16, 2008 6:43 pm

On my system 6,879,804K or roughly 6.6 gig
Offline

dadams

Member

  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:36 am
  • Location: Ellicott City MD; and North Beach, NJ...it all depends)

PostThu Sep 18, 2008 2:34 pm

FWIW - I am running it on a Q6600 with 8GB with no problems.
"Bach: his mind was universal, his heart was overwhelming, and his spirit transcends over all of God's Creation" Virgil Fox
Offline

Patrick Schoenbach

Member

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:06 am

PostThu Sep 18, 2008 2:38 pm

Do you think, I still could run Sibelius on the same machine?
Regards,
Patrick
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Member

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

PostThu Sep 18, 2008 3:01 pm

If Sibelius is compatible with 64 bit windows I guess you shouldn't have any problem (as I said with my system Metz extended uses about 6.6 gig with about 600 megs free once everything is loaded).

So 600 megs should be more than enough to run Sibelius
Offline

J# Minor

Member

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 1:20 pm
  • Location: Dallas, Texas, USA

PostThu Sep 18, 2008 10:58 pm

I also am running a Q6600 quad core with 8GB RAM. I'm using Vista Ultimate x64.

Vista wants to run tons of junk in the background -- transparent windows, Media Center services, network file sharing, etc. To eliminate the crackles and pops, I had to disable all that cruft and give the Hauptwerk process high or real-time priority.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 10845
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 2:19 pm
  • Location: UK

PostFri Sep 19, 2008 7:18 am

To eliminate the crackles and pops, I had to disable all that cruft and give the Hauptwerk process high or real-time priority.


Whilst disabling other background Windows tasks and other applications usually helps and is usually a good idea, I'd very strongly recommend against adjusting Hauptwerk's priorities. Hauptwerk is very carefully designed to control all of it's thread and process priorities dynamically and optimally and trying to adjust them via Windows should at best give no benefit and at worst give poor performance or other performance-related issues.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

[Please use email or the Contact page if you need to contact us privately, rather than private forum messages.]
Offline

David Richardson

Member

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 3:39 pm
  • Location: Iowa City, IA

PostTue Sep 23, 2008 9:44 am

micdev,

Are you really loading
Metz extended is very happy, loading at 24 bits + loss less compression and all the realism option on
at 24 bit rather than 20 bit. I tried loading it at 24 bit on my 8 gig system and it didn't fit but it will load at 20 bit.

David
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Member

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

PostTue Sep 23, 2008 11:08 am

Hi David,

I will check my configuration today (since I'm at work right now) and give you the exact set-up I have for the Metz.

Sorry for the inconvenience (I know what it is to way 20 some minutes for the sample to load the first time).

François
Offline

prinzipal

Member

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:25 am
  • Location: Darmstadt

PostTue Sep 23, 2008 11:53 am

Vista 64 is really annoying. On my 8 Gb / Q6600 machine I disabled ALL this high-design features, also I disabled the service " superfetch". But the system always need more then 700 MB.

So I also got an interruption with loading the extended Metz at 24 bit compressed. Which is not a big problem, playing with some stops at 20 bit is also ok. But I am a bit preeved of the RAM consumption of Vista - which on the other hand is quite stable.

Yesterday I installed XP on an 1 Gb/ 2.8 P4 machine of a friend, there the system only used 85 MB ! A Dream!

best regards,
Johan
Offline
User avatar

RichardW

Member

  • Posts: 827
  • Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:16 am
  • Location: UK

PostTue Sep 23, 2008 3:57 pm

I have a Q6600 with 8GB and I think the Metz was just too big for it at 24 bits. So I kept the manuals at 24 bits and changed the sounds and pedals back to 16 bit. It now runs in about 7GB. I keep threatening to re-try the pedals at 24 bits but have not got round to it yet.

I hope this helps,
Richard
Offline
User avatar

micdev

Member

  • Posts: 1424
  • Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 10:24 am
  • Location: Canada, Quebec

PostTue Sep 23, 2008 4:13 pm

David,

I'm back home and checked my loading parameters. First of all I'm using XP64, not Vista.

Ok, here is my setup:
-pedal stops are loaded "MONO" 24 bit, loss less, max realism and full release
- All other ranks are loaded "STEREO", 24 bit, loss less, max realism and full release. The lowest octave of the 16' ranks are routed to my pedal channel (having a sub on that channel), 24 bit MONO, max realism full release
- Noises are loaded Mono, 16 bit, max realism full release

Total load size: 6.6 gigs (600 megs free mem OS + HW + SAMPLES)

Hope this help
François

Return to Hauptwerk instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bertram, bourdon, kwbmusic, Purator, student and 3 guests