It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:40 am

Hearing aids for organ music

A discussion forum for anything even marginally Hauptwerk-related.
  • Author

JulianMoney-Kyrle

Hearing aids for organ music

PostFri May 21, 2021 4:15 am

I have some high-frequency hearing loss resulting from a combination of noise exposure when I was younger (this gives a very characteristic loss at 4 KHZ and I think I can trace it from a single event when I was a teenager) and more recent damage resulting from chemotherapy, which has affected higher frequencies. There is also probably an age-related element as I am sixty now. It is rather ironic that I have been prescribing cisplatin (a chemotherapy drug) for many years during my career as an oncologist, taking great pains to minimise its serious toxicities (early and delayed vomiting, kidney failure and immunosuppression) while only being peripherally aware of its almost universal effects on hearing and taste, until I experienced these for myself. Unfortunately the hearing loss is delayed and often doesn't start until the chemotherapy is complete.

I have recently started wearing hearing aids. These were supplied free of charge by the NHS, and would have cost me about £3,000 - 3,500 were I to have bought them privately. They clearly perform some quite sophisticated digital processing, including suppression of background noise and directional preference (which can be controlled via an iPhone app) to enable me to concentrate on one speaker among several. They selectively amplify the frequencies that I am missing, and the audiologist took measurements inside my ear canals in order to tailor them more precisely to my own hearing.