It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:50 pm

Hauptwerk with Zoom - remote learning / masterclasses

Playing or learning the organ, hints, tips and tricks, registrations, techniques, fingerings, ...
  • Author

jerrymartin

Hauptwerk with Zoom - remote learning / masterclasses

PostSat Jan 07, 2023 10:22 pm

Hi everyone,

This past summer, I was fortunate to enjoy the help of friends outside the USA as I studied some of the works of Franck. I have received questions from some folks about how to set this up so today made a video showing how I send a stereo mix of the Hauptwerk output down a Zoom stream for realtime collaboration.

Indeed, the person on the other end can do the same thing. Unfortunately I don't think the latency would be low enough to allow duets, but it's certainly low enough for meaningful conversation, discussion, and coaching!

https://youtu.be/ZigPqMbHaKc

Happy New Year everyone,

Jerry
Jeremiah Martin,
Portsmouth, Ohio

Jmecho

Re: Hauptwerk with Zoom - remote learning / masterclasses

PostSun Jan 08, 2023 5:27 am

Thanks Jerry for sharing.

CyrilCouten

PostWed Jan 11, 2023 11:36 am

Tks Jerry. I understand in your set up that the USB mixer that is connected on a (separate) laptop where the zoom meeting takes place is all what is needed (+camera + microphone of course). Right ?

So far I have been using an alternate (4 channel) sound card into which is plugged the output from my main sound card, and microphone + camera being plugged via USB into the (separate) laptop, then use OBS to "assemble" all this information which then feeds zoom (with same parameters that you have described). This set up is not ideal as I cannot merge the sound output from my alternate sound card with the sound ouput from my teacher, without interfering noises. So I had to fiddle with dual earphones to get it working.

This is the set up that I have used to take lessons via zoom.