It is currently Wed Jul 28, 2021 8:53 am


Low hardware load

Buying or building computers for Hauptwerk, recommendations, troubleshooting computer hardware issues.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

minktor

Member

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:53 pm

Low hardware load

PostMon Dec 21, 2020 10:40 am

Hallo,
I have the following hardware:
Ryzen 7 1700
64 GB RAM
Nve-SSD ( 2000 MB/s)
Loading a Sample (f.e. Goerlitz Sonnenorgel) the taskmanager displays :
CPU <25%
RAM slowly rising
Disk access < 500 MB/s
Loadingtime 120 s ( for a "prepared" Sampleset)
I need a larger SSD for new samplesets.
My measured data suggest me at a SATA-ssd would suffice since the NVe SSD is not maxed out at all.
Why ist the systemload so low? All cores get bored.
Does anyone have experience with NVe/SATA SSD?
Thanks
Bert
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 13459
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Low hardware load

PostMon Dec 21, 2020 11:00 am

Hello Bert,

Here's a topic (with links to others) that cover loading speeds:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=18771&p=145233#p145233

mdyde wrote:this post covers loading speeds from SSD, and the fact that the per-core CPU speed might become a bottleneck with ultra-fast recent SSDs (and perhaps also with traditional SATA SSDs in RAID0):

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=18986&p=144586&#p142756

mdyde wrote:Here are some topics on loading speeds from cache:

http://forum.hauptwerk.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14624
http://forum.hauptwerk.com/viewtopic.ph ... 61#p119622
http://forum.hauptwerk.com/viewtopic.ph ... 777#p74773
http://forum.hauptwerk.com/viewtopic.ph ... 56#p108156
http://forum.hauptwerk.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14683

In brief:

- Hauptwerk also needs to do other processing on the cache data when loading (such as decrypting it).
- After loading from cache, Hauptwerk's log ('Help | View activity log', and look at INF:2157) will show loading performances stats.
- With extremely fast (PCIe etc.) SSDs the per-core CPU performance is likely to be the bottleneck.
- When loading from cache Hauptwerk is currently (v5) able to take advantage about 5-6 cores (but more won't hurt).
- Hauptwerk is tested with and optimised for Intel CPUs, but I know of no reason that an AMD CPU with AVX2 shouldn't perform well, and Hauptwerk v5 should detect it as having AVX2 (check the 'INF:4165 ... Processor build type' in the activity log after launching Hauptwerk) and use that capability.
- Hauptwerk v5 should load caches a bit faster than v4 did, but making it take full advantage of the performance capabilities of very fast PCIe SSDs would be a fairly big project -- one for the future.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

minktor

Member

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:53 pm

Re: Low hardware load

PostWed Dec 23, 2020 10:55 am

Thank you for the detailed answer
Bert
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 13459
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Low hardware load

PostWed Dec 23, 2020 11:24 am

Thanks, Bert.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Return to Computer hardware / specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Doug S. and 1 guest