It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:18 am

Rank Routing - Then mixing close, front and rear

Speakers, amplifiers, headphones, multi-channel audio, reverb units, mixers, wiring, ...
  • Author

Wayne Grauel

Rank Routing - Then mixing close, front and rear

PostFri Feb 10, 2023 7:44 pm

I am at my wits end. I have my Rank Routing set for

mixer group 1 close RP & SW
group 2 close HW & Ped

Group 3 Front

4 Rear

If I have 4 speakers for Close 2 front and 2 "mid room" - How can I mix some of the front with the close
it appears I have to have all or nothing with the mixer output channels. I can send front to the close speakers and thats it.

what part of Mixer am I not getting? I have a 24-4-2 presonus digital mixer so it's not like I'm new to audio. I thought I had this mastered until I wanted to have "some of this here" and "some of this there"

Logic tells me that If you could route pipes ( ranks ) to more than one buss, then problem solved. I tried numerous times sending ranks to other perspectives ( what ever that means) and I end up with dead notes hear and there depending on what channels of audio im running. - that really has me puzzled so I figured that isn't what I want to do.

Can someone draw me a flow chart of how on earth you send signals to more than one buss?

Ive been at this all afternoon, and it's now 7:40 pm so if I sound just a little frustrated I apologize.

Wayne

mnailor

Re: Rank Routing - Then mixing close, front and rear

PostFri Feb 10, 2023 8:03 pm

The all or nothing idea isn't accurate, fortunately.

The mixer flow is explained on page 216 of the Hauptwerk 7 Installation and User Guide. I can't explain it better than that.