It is currently Wed Jul 28, 2021 8:22 am


Midi boutique hwce2

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Citroenboi

Member

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:22 am

Midi boutique hwce2

PostFri May 28, 2021 12:07 pm

Hi all
I have a Hwce2 board that controls keys and pistons. This has been working fine. I have just added another hwce2 to control the stops. This seems to be conflicting with the first board. For example when programming a stop on hauptwerk it will bring on a piston. Do I need to somehow set the 2nd board up on a another channel?
Thanks
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7167
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostFri May 28, 2021 12:23 pm

Citroenboi wrote:Do I need to somehow set the 2nd board up on a another channel?


Yes, you do.

https://www.midiboutique.com/index.php?route=module/product_downloads/get&did=4

All programming is done by dedicated SysEx messages, format described in documentation
programmable features are permanently memorized in non-volatile memory
an convenient MS-Windows-based application hwce2prg for programming is free downloadable (for boards made before 10.2017)
UpSet and UpSetEx programming utilies for Windows (for boards made since 10.2017, using new programming protocol), free


If your computer is a PC, you can use

http://www.midiox.com/

to check the channel, etc. of the original.

Rgds,
Ed
Offline

Citroenboi

Member

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:22 am

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostFri May 28, 2021 12:37 pm

Is it just a case that board 1 is Chanel 1, board 2 channel 2...?
Offline

larason2

Member

  • Posts: 339
  • Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostFri May 28, 2021 12:57 pm

Yes, I believe each board is it’s own channel, set to the same ones on all units by factory default.
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7167
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostFri May 28, 2021 1:14 pm

Citroenboi wrote:Is it just a case that board 1 is Chanel 1, board 2 channel 2...?

It depends on how the other components such as the manuals are set up as to which channel is used. MidiOx will indicate this. You can designate (program) any unused channel for this new board which Hauptwerk will accept when you auto-detect it. (MIDI channels: 1-16). Generally VPO manuals (keyboards) are assigned to the lower MIDI channels, such as for example: channel 1 operates the pedal, channel 2 the great, and channel 3 the swell, etc. There can be exceptions.

Simply said, each component (device) needs to be on it's own MIDI channel to avoid interferences.

Rgds,
Ed
Offline

GrahamH

Member

  • Posts: 591
  • Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 6:39 am
  • Location: Near Manchester, England

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostFri May 28, 2021 1:51 pm

Is it just a case that board 1 is Chanel 1, board 2 channel 2...?


On my HWce2x board which has six 16 pin IDC headers, the default setting was:
Header 1 - Channel 1
Header 2 - Channel 2
Header 3 - Channel 3
Header 4 - Channel 4
Header 5 - Channel 5
Header 6 - Channel 6

Graham
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7167
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostFri May 28, 2021 3:02 pm

Citroenboi wrote:I have just added another hwce2 to control the stops.


Was there a reason for choosing a hwce2 to control the stops? As the primary function(s) of that board is used as a scan row keyboard encoder.

A better choice might have been either a msed32 or a msed64 which are designed specifically as a stop/piston MIDI encoder-decoder.

https://www.midiboutique.com/msed32

https://www.midiboutique.com/msed64

Rgds,
Ed
Offline

jkinkennon

Member

  • Posts: 1145
  • Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 9:43 am
  • Location: Vancouver, WA

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostSat May 29, 2021 12:04 pm

Connect the 2nd hwce2 using a USB adapter cable. This would be the easy foolproof approach.

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail ... -interface

Yamaha and Roland both make similar devices but this one is class compliant so doesn't require custom drivers.

Alternately it's possible to reassign ports using a manufacturer's utility but that would involve a daisy chaining or MIDI merger solution, neither of which is ideal.
Offline

Citroenboi

Member

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:22 am

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostSun May 30, 2021 12:50 pm

Does anybody have experience of changing the preset channels on the Hwce board?
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7167
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostSun May 30, 2021 1:44 pm

hwce2easyprg is an software (Windows only) utility,
designed for programming MIDIevents in HWce2 MIDI console
encoder manufactured by MIDI Gadgets Boutique (MGB)
by means of device-specific MIDI System Exclusive messages.

Start by loading and un-zipping this utility:
Just unpack and run it.

https://www.midiboutique.com/index.php?route=module/product_downloads/get&did=4

It is simplified version of hwce2prg utility, with more natural
and easy-to-understand user interface and representation of
MIDI numbers and terms.

For sake of simplicity, the utility allows programming only
single MIDI message per input/event.

All MIDI channels are supported for above message types.

The programmed messages are memorized in non-volatile memory inside
microcontroller chip and used till next change or... forever!

The programming procedure is listed in 5 steps directly on
utility's screen. All you need to do is to run it and follow
the on-screen instructions step-by-step.


Rgds,
Ed
Last edited by engrssc on Sun May 30, 2021 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

larason2

Member

  • Posts: 339
  • Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:32 pm

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostSun May 30, 2021 1:46 pm

Additionally, make sure the board you want to change is the only one connected via Midi when you make the change.
Offline

Citroenboi

Member

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:22 am

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostSun May 30, 2021 2:24 pm

Thank you. I have had a quick look. Would I need to select “note on” channel 7 for each of the Entries then do the same for note off channel 8?
Offline
User avatar

engrssc

Member

  • Posts: 7167
  • Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:12 pm
  • Location: Roscoe, IL, USA

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostSun May 30, 2021 4:53 pm

For stop control note-on (127) and note-off (0), both MIDI messages need to be on the same channel.

HW 6 User manual pg 173 -----_

Rgds,
Ed
Offline

Citroenboi

Member

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:22 am

Re: Midi boutique hwce2

PostTue Jun 01, 2021 3:41 pm

All sorted now thank you

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests