It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:09 am

Modify MIDI messages before Hauptwerk sees them?

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author

mnailor

Modify MIDI messages before Hauptwerk sees them?

PostTue Dec 21, 2021 8:04 am

I'd like to be able to replace selected MIDI messages from my console arriving via my MOTU MIDI Express XT or any MIDI - USB interface to the PC. It could be limited to replacing one message with two for my purposes.

For example, with a single thumb piston or toe stud, I'd like to trigger the master crescendo increment (or decrement) button and then the edit button to make an additive stepper. I could assign the same toe stud as input to both virtual controls, but they might not trigger in the right order.

I don't know if this is possible on Windows, but I'd prefer a software solution. A Python program intercepting MIDI? I'm a programmer. Unclothed circuit boards aren't allowed in my house. :D

Another way, for this specific example, might be to assign the toe stud's ON message to the first virtual control, and the OFF message to the second. Is there a way to do that in Hauptwerk without an intervening program? The toe studs send Note ON when pressed, then OFF when released. HW Adjust MIDI shows the Note OFF option greyed out.

Thank you for any ideas.
Last edited by mnailor on Tue Dec 21, 2021 9:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

larason2

Re: Modify MIDI messages before Hauptwerk sees them?

PostTue Dec 21, 2021 9:05 am

I haven’t used it, but the Bome software is often mentioned for this purpose:

https://www.bome.com/products/miditranslator

If you’re a programmer, I’m sure you could write a quick program to do the same thing, however. Not sure if there are any other software suites out there like it. Personally I would use an arduino. If you don’t like how it looks unclothed, then you can always clothe it!

mnailor

PostTue Dec 21, 2021 9:40 am

Thank you -- I'll look at that.

mnailor

PostTue Dec 21, 2021 12:15 pm