It is currently Tue Jul 23, 2024 6:35 pm


HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

Connecting Hauptwerk to MIDI organs, sequencers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Marco

Member

  • Posts: 420
  • Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 5:29 pm

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Mar 01, 2012 1:47 am

another interesting configuration option for folks that primarily listen over headphones (and therefore don't normally need multiple outputs) is to create multiple audio output groups in HW corresponding to various stereo pairs in Reaper, to each stereo pair one can associate a different instance of the reverb fx, and in HW different organs can be loaded and sent to different audio groups, this would mean that if you have 4-5 organs you could have a different reverb settings in reaper for each one of them applied automatically without having to change anything (since each organ would be routed to a different track, with a different reverb setting)
Offline
User avatar

elpaharo

Member

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:50 pm
  • Location: New Braunfels, TX

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Mar 01, 2012 12:24 pm

......
Last edited by elpaharo on Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Owen Jones

Member

  • Posts: 656
  • Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:08 am
  • Location: Canberra Australia.

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostSun Nov 25, 2012 12:10 pm

micdev wrote:Dear all,

I finally managed to find the time to write a little page explaining how to add convolution reverb with REAPER or BIDULE for Hauptwerk 4.

Quick and dirty tutorial, but should help all those who contacted me and wanted to convert their HW3 projects to HW4.

You can find the page here

Best regards
François


Thanks a million for this; I have a few friends who want to install reaper and this will be a great help.
cheers
Owen
Offline
User avatar

B. Milan

Site Admin

  • Posts: 4392
  • Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 10:15 am
  • Location: Sarasota, FL. USA

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostWed Jul 03, 2013 10:45 pm

The Hauptwerk website has an updated Tutorials area with a new tutorial for the current version (at this time of writing) for Reaper 4.402, visit http://www.hauptwerk.com/news/tutorials-sequencing/ for further information.
Brett Milan
Owner
MILAN DIGITAL AUDIO
Offline
User avatar

Owen Jones

Member

  • Posts: 656
  • Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:08 am
  • Location: Canberra Australia.

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Jul 04, 2013 3:45 am

Thanks Brett
Offline

nkellogg

Member

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 11:10 am

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostWed Mar 25, 2015 9:00 am

The original tutorial page is NOT FOUND 404.
Offline

kkiiwwii

Member

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:02 am
  • Location: new zealand

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostWed Mar 25, 2015 11:29 pm

I can still get it at http://www.hauptwerk.com/news/tutorials-sequencing- as shown above
Charles
Offline
User avatar

B. Milan

Site Admin

  • Posts: 4392
  • Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 10:15 am
  • Location: Sarasota, FL. USA

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostWed Mar 25, 2015 11:52 pm

I believe he was referring to the original post in this thread by François with the following URL which gives a 404 Error:

http://www.hauptwerkconsultant.com/page ... _convo.asp
Brett Milan
Owner
MILAN DIGITAL AUDIO
Offline
User avatar

JohnNicholson

Member

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:03 pm
  • Location: North Wales (Bangor)

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 8:20 am

I stumbled upon this topic whilst searching for somethings else, but I would love to learn how to use Reaper or other reverb software to enhance Hauptwerk. However the link given returns a 404 error, file not found. Is there a better link elsewhere?
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15619
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 8:49 am

Hello John,

The tutorial is in under 'Support | Tutorials | Applying software reverb' (from the main website navigation menu at the top of the page):

https://www.hauptwerk.com/support/tutorials/
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

mdl

Member

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu May 09, 2024 5:04 pm

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostFri May 31, 2024 7:45 am

All of the links in this thread no longer work. Does anyone have an updated link that does work? I am trying to learn about this topic.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15619
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostFri May 31, 2024 7:59 am

Hello mdl,

Welcome to the forum.

Hauptwerk v4 was current when this topic was originally posted. Later version (v5+) of the Hauptwerk Advanced Edition have convolution reverb ability built in -- see the "Audio routing and impulse response reverb part 1: adding overall reverbs, surround/3D sound, stereo-only sound, and routing concepts for basic use" section in the main Hauptwerk user guide (on the Help menu in Hauptwerk; especially pages 208-220 in the current v8.0 version).

If (instead of using Hauptwerk's built in convolution reverb) you do still prefer to route the audio from Hauptwerk to a VST/AU host (which also requires the Advanced Edition for v5+) so as to use the VST/AU for applying reverb/effects, then see the "MIDI sequencing, the Hauptwerk AU/VST Link and applying external real-time effects plug-ins" section in the user guide (pages 275-279).
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline
User avatar

damuehlbauer

Member

  • Posts: 165
  • Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:23 pm
  • Location: Arizona

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostFri May 31, 2024 2:04 pm

I used Reaper before version 5 and had the instructions for adding reverb saved to my computer. Here is a copy. Martin or others can reply if there are problems with this.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1sGBRzC ... sp=sharing
David Muehlbauer
Mesa, Arizona USA
Offline

mdl

Member

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu May 09, 2024 5:04 pm

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Jun 04, 2024 7:25 pm

Thanks for the pointers to the sections in the manual and to that document. I'll do some reading and see if I can learn what I need to.

I realize that HW now has advanced mixing and reverb capabilities, but I'm interested in Reaper or some similar solution in order to do audio crossover EQ. I want to run multiple main channels with speakers that can handle down to 32 Hz for 16' stops, but it's impractical to have them all handle 16 Hz for 32' stops. In order to handle the 32s, I can create a mixdown of all the main channels inside HW, and output the main channels and the mixdown channel to my audio interface. But then I still need to run the high-pass and low-pass filters to split the signals by frequency. Reaper can do that for me.

I also found that some audio interfaces like the MOTU mk5 can do this internally. That interface costs more as a result, but it would avoid the software configuration complexities of Reaper + Hauptwerk.
Last edited by mdl on Wed Jun 05, 2024 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

mnailor

Member

  • Posts: 1653
  • Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 5:57 pm
  • Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: HW 4 - Reverb using REAPER or BIDULE

PostTue Jun 04, 2024 9:39 pm

If you haven't already bought a sub, as long as you buy one with a low pass filter of its own, you can send it a simple mixdown of all the channels and let the sub manage what frequencies it plays to reinforce the 32' octave. If your main speakers are active monitors, they'll probably have their own rumble filters to ignore any frequencies too low for their woofers. There's often no need to do high pass and low pass filters in front of the subs and monitors. If it is needed, a MOTU or RME interface with onboard DSP might be easier and perform better than using Reaper if you don't need Reaper for other reasons.
PreviousNext

Return to Audio / MIDI interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest