It is currently Wed Jul 24, 2024 9:40 am


Weird software issues...?!

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

mattrix

Member

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2022 1:35 am

Weird software issues...?!

PostMon Jun 10, 2024 2:13 am

Hello,

As mentioned on the Facebook thread I and others have been experiencing odd issues and freezing of late.
This more than likely is Microsoft WIN11 derived with updates etc... hoping.

However twice now and I don't know exactly how/or what the error is i've started up HW7 and loaded a sampleset erfurt P for eg and all multi speaker routing has been lost. Nothing has been defaulted or touched between one day working and the next day of starting up. The only thing different that i've clicked on to have a look at are 2nd screen to have a play with an ipad as second screen.. Both occasions each stop has gone to an unused bus or channels 1/2 instead of the various locations that the stops are all routed to including a 8 speaker group.

Likely>? or some funny bug that's screwed it all up? What could possibly change where all the stops are routed?


Second, weekend was on mac laptop and in a very poor 4g reception area and when changing samplesets HW7 would just freeze and die...(Mac would report it as frozen spinning circle...) Once logged in and running would changing sampleset (all i have are non encrypted) trigger a ilok check? And therefore internet from my phone not very good and somehow completely lock up and freeze HW, instead of just reporting can't connect ? Running High Sierra - it really felt like hdd couldn't read and lock everything up, screen would say getting ready to load and then die spinning never load - but is a brand new ssd - force quit HW and restart and load the sample set needed and all was fine....!! Might have to get a ilok usb for these occasions... can you run ilok usb and cloud session 1 occurrence at a time or moving to ilok usb no longer uses cloud....? Home win11 system did this also over the weekend. Load a sampleset whilst in one already and just crashed and froze... had to force quit - and restart up as normal.
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15622
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Weird software issues...?!

PostMon Jun 10, 2024 5:24 am

Hello mattrix,

[For my own background reference, this one of your previous threads has some general information on your PC hardware viewtopic.php?f=4&t=21065 ... and this one on your speaker arrangements: viewtopic.php?f=17&t=21255 .]

mattrix wrote:Second, weekend was on mac laptop and in a very poor 4g reception area and when changing samplesets HW7 would just freeze and die...(Mac would report it as frozen spinning circle...) Once logged in and running would changing sampleset (all i have are non encrypted) trigger a ilok check? And therefore internet from my phone not very good and somehow completely lock up and freeze HW, instead of just reporting can't connect ? Running High Sierra - it really felt like hdd couldn't read and lock everything up, screen would say getting ready to load and then die spinning never load - but is a brand new ssd - force quit HW and restart and load the sample set needed and all was fine....!! Might have to get a ilok usb for these occasions... can you run ilok usb and cloud session 1 occurrence at a time or moving to ilok usb no longer uses cloud....? Home win11 system did this also over the weekend. Load a sampleset whilst in one already and just crashed and froze... had to force quit - and restart up as normal.


The iLok licence for Hauptwerk does need to remain present/available all of the time that Hauptwerk is running, including when loading a sample set (even if the sample set isn't encrypted). If the licence is on an iLok dongle and the dongle is disconnected when trying to load an organ, the iLok system will return an error straight away and Hauptwerk will show an error message accordingly. However, if your licence is instead in iLok Cloud and the Internet connection is interrupted or slow temporarily then it might appear to have hung whilst the iLok system is trying to re-establish the connection. Using a dongle should avoid that.

mattrix wrote:However twice now and I don't know exactly how/or what the error is i've started up HW7 and loaded a sampleset erfurt P for eg and all multi speaker routing has been lost. Nothing has been defaulted or touched between one day working and the next day of starting up. The only thing different that i've clicked on to have a look at are 2nd screen to have a play with an ipad as second screen.. Both occasions each stop has gone to an unused bus or channels 1/2 instead of the various locations that the stops are all routed to including a 8 speaker group.


Please first try:

- Make sure that all available motherboard BIOS updates are applied. (Check again, in case there have been any updates released recently, for example.)

- Likewise, make sure that all available Windows updates are applied.

- Likewise make sure all available firmware and driver updates for hardware devices are applied, and especially so for audio/MIDI interfaces, the graphics card, and the motherboard. Check on their manufacturers' websites if needed.

- Test your RAM for errors. (Memory board faults are common, and memory corruption could easily be responsible for the problem.)

- Make sure that Windows is always shutting down properly (otherwise it's likely to corrupt Hauptwerk's settings files, which could cause this type of problem).

- Test the drive for errors.

Then if it happens again, please try:

1. On the "Audio Mixer, Routing and Voicing/Panning Settings" large control panel make sure that the mixer preset is still set to the intended value (and likewise for the rank routing/voicing preset if using Hauptwerk v8+), in case the preset has been changed accidentally (e.g. by an accidental mouse click, keyboard shortcut, or from a MIDI piston).

2. On the Audio Mixer screen (within the relevant mixer preset's node in the left-hand bus list), see whether the green virtual bus audio activity indicators are responding for the correct buses for a rank, even though you are hearing the rank through the wrong speakers. Are they? (If so, the routing might be going wrong externally to Hauptwerk, e.g. in the audio interface driver control panel's mixer.)

3. See whether changing the mixer preset (via the above control panel) to a different value and then changing it straight back again corrects the routing. (That would reset the real-time routing values, in case some memory had become corrupted, for example.)

4. If not, then try selecting "Engine | Reset organ/MIDI" from the menu and see whether the rank is then routed correctly.

5. If not, try selecting "Engine | Restart audio/MIDI (emergency reset ...)" from the menu and see whether that corrects the routing.

6. If not, try exiting and relaunching Hauptwerk. Does that resolve it?
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

mattrix

Member

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2022 1:35 am

Re: Weird software issues...?!

PostTue Jun 18, 2024 2:58 am

Thanks Martin,

Hasn't done it again - and there was another WIN11 update and a new bios as well as new drivers for the focusrite... so I did all those and still not happening again... so all good. Crazy anomalies I guess...!!
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 15622
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Weird software issues...?!

PostTue Jun 18, 2024 3:16 am

Thanks, mattrix.

Excellent. Hopefully the updates have solved it.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest