It is currently Sat Jun 19, 2021 10:23 pm


Hauptwerk on a different machine

Hauptwerk software technical support only. Please make sure you have read the manual, tutorials and FAQ pages before requesting support.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Davred61

Member

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 5:41 pm

Hauptwerk on a different machine

PostSun May 09, 2021 12:03 pm

Last time I changed my Hauptwerk PC, it didn't go particularly well 8)

I'm about to move from a Windows PC to a iMAC and would really like to get things right this time!!

Is anyone able to give me step-by-step guidance with this please? Including de-authorising the old machine!

Many thanks

David
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 13385
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk on a different machine

PostSun May 09, 2021 2:34 pm

Hello David,

Licences aren't computer-specific, so you don't need to de-authorise anything on your existing computer. If using iLok Cloud (as opposed to an iLok dongle), you would just need to close you iLok Cloud session on your existing computer, prior to opening it again on your new one, since only one computer can have your iLok Cloud session open at any given time.

Assuming you're using Hauptwerk v6 (which allows MIDI settings to be migrated even if MIDI port names change), I wrote some step-by-step instructions for transferring everything in this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=19543&p=146997#p146691

mdyde wrote:For transferring all of your MIDI settings (and other settings and data, such as combinations) from one computer to another please see the instructions in the 'Backing up and restoring your settings and data: Moving your settings to a new/different computer or restoring them to your existing computer' section in the main Hauptwerk user guide (pages 32-33 in the current v6.0.2 version: https://www.hauptwerk.com/documentation/ ).

However, be aware that in Hauptwerk v4/v5 MIDI settings were stored relative to the MIDI port names that they related to, and that if you use different MIDI interfaces/ports on your new computer, or if on your new computer the operating system/drivers present different MIDI port names for your existing MIDI interfaces (which commonly happens), then your previous MIDI settings for those ports would no longer work, and you would potentially need to be auto-detect/reconfigure the MIDI settings for them for all applicable virtual controls for all of your organs again.

Hauptwerk v6 handles MIDI ports differently in order to address that, whereby MIDI settings are stored relative to virtual/aliased MIDI ports (e.g. 'Console MIDI IN 1') instead of MIDI ports' device names, so that in v6 you simply need to change which column is ticked for the relevant row on the MIDI ports screen in that situation. That's covered in more detail in the list of v6.0.0 changes in the release notice ( https://www.hauptwerk.com/documentation/ ) and in the 'General settings menu: MIDI ports' section in the main Hauptwerk user guide (page 160 in the v6.0.2 version).

I would recommend:

- Upgrade your old PC to Hauptwerk v6.0.2 [if you haven't done so already].

- On your old PC, in Hauptwerk v6, specify meaningful 'user aliases' for any 'Console MIDI IN/OUT' rows that are currently ticked on the 'General settings | MIDI ports' two screen tabs, according to what MIDI hardware is currently connected to them.

- Use 'File | Backup ...' on your old PC, then exit Hauptwerk.

- Install v6.0.2 on your new laptop, as well as iLok License Manager and any needed audio/MIDI interface drivers. Sign into iLok License Manager and connect your iLok dongle (or open your iLok Cloud session, whichever is applicable).

- Connect/move your audio/MIDI interfaces to your new laptop.

- Launch Hauptwerk. Just acknowledge/dismiss any wizards/prompts.

- Use 'File | Restore ...' to restore the backup that you had made from your old PC.

- Re-launch Hauptwerk.

- On the 'General settings | MIDI ports' screen make sure that your laptop's intended MIDI ports (columns) are (still) ticked in the appropriate 'Console MIDI IN/OUT' rows that your old PC was using (the rows for which you would have specified meaningful aliases above, so as to help identify them more easily).

- Re-install your organs.

You should then find that your previous MIDI settings work properly on your new laptop.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.
Offline

Davred61

Member

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2020 5:41 pm

Re: Hauptwerk on a different machine

PostMon May 10, 2021 2:50 am

@mdyde

Perfect - thank you very much indeed!

David
Offline
User avatar

mdyde

Moderator

  • Posts: 13385
  • Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:19 pm
  • Location: UK

Re: Hauptwerk on a different machine

PostMon May 10, 2021 3:40 am

Thanks, David. You're very welcome.
Best regards, Martin.
Hauptwerk software designer/developer, Milan Digital Audio.

Return to Technical support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests